If you like “The Stormlight Archive” by Brandon Sanderson, then you might enjoy…

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

If you like The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books. I find them to have some degree of similarity with The Way of Kings.

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soiless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promesing medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

Book

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity”, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

The Way of Shadows is the first book in the Night Angel Trilogy, an an excellent book it is. The hours just fly by as we live the life of Kylar Stern.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

They both have spirits that are an integral part of their magic systems. The are epic fantasy books where humans are warring against them self and a deadly non human race.

The-Spirit-Thief-The-Legend-of-Eli-Monpress-1-by-Rachel-Aaron.jpg

Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s the greatest thief of his time. He is also a spirit charmer, a wizard. He’s companions are a swordsman carrying the most powerful magic sword in the world but with no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls.

Every single object has a spirit, and a wizard’s power derives from the ability to enter into a mutual contract with these spirits. On the more evil side of the spectrum wizards can alsoenslave the spirits. Eli, uniquely, seems to be able to just talk them into doing what he wants. This can be seen in the opening scene of The Spirit Thief where Eli Monpress is trying to escape from the royal dungeon of Mellinor. He does this bycharming the dungeon’s door into opening. He is persuading, cajoling and wheedling it into letting him through. Explaining to it that it really would be much better off without those annoying nails keeping it together.

This book might not be deep or complex, but it is still a very good read. It is written in a witty and charming way that makes it hard to lay down.

They both have spirits that are an integral part of their magic systems. But they are not much similar on other points.

Blood-Song-Ravens-Shadow-1-by-Anthony-Ryan.jpg

Vaelin Al Sorna was only a ten year old child when his father left him at the gate of the Sixth Order. Sixth of in all seven orders, the Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. The other orders of the faith has each its own special field of responsibility. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to have a chance of survive the dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order, his brothers in arms. Vaelin Al Sorna is destined for a future he has yet to comprehend. A future that will alter not only the Realm, but the world.

Blood Song is the first book in the Raven’s Shadow series. I know many people love this book, I liked to, but I fell out for a while. There was something that made me loose attention at the end of the first book and the beginning of the second. However, I liked it enough to keep reading the books when they come.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

Both series have power struggles among the nobles and an inhuman species threatening the world.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Her you go, 9 recommendations from me to you. Do you have any to give in return?

  • Aaron Pope

    I am thoroughly surprised by the accuracy of the comparisons you’ve made here. I am major stickler for fantastic, world building concentrated series’s and once that beautiful saddening day comes when I’ve finished another series I find it so incredibly difficult to find something that grips both my heart and mind again. I have literally scoured the web from TasteKid to GoodReads trying to find Authors that bring my life the beauty that Jordan, Sanderson, and Brett have brought me often only to find continuous mediocre fantasy. When I venture into a world I look for an epic, not some tale spun off archetypal foundations and cliche signature characters. Needless to say finding stories on this level is a daunting task indeed. However, here laid out simply with concise accurate descriptions is a list of literally the best series’s I’ve ever read.. Not one has been missed and there are even two or three I’ve yet to be introduced to, an ailment that will be swiftly cured. Most of them I’ve actually read two or three times (Wheel of Time, Stormlight Archive). So thank you for being the first person I have ever seen able to provide proper a list of books in this special genre of fantasy and please if you or anyone else can add to the list I would love some more suggestions.
    -Aaron Pope

    • A Fictional Universe

      Thanks. I too have read some of those grate stories multiple times.

      I`m currently reading Nightlord: Sunset by Garon E Whited. I like it very much, but it`s not exactly like those on this list. It`s what might be called Portal Fantasy. It starts out more like an urban fantasy set in our world but it transfer over to a epic fantasy when he travels to the other world. The main person is a vampire, buts its`s not like all those dime a dozen paranormal vampire love stories. There is two other series I have read lately that might be added to the list, but I`m not sure. The Kin of Kings by B.T. Narro could fit, but I don’t think this series is as good as the others, it`s good, but not that good. If you want to read it you should probably check out The Rhythm of Rivalry and Pyforial Mage Trilogy first. They are set in the same universe and they precedes The Kin of Kings, or at least The Rhythm of Rivalry dos, I have not read the other one. The other series is The Bowl of Souls by Trevor H. Cooley. I like this series better, but here is something about it that gives it a little more YA feel to it than the rest on the list above.

      I would love some other suggestions. Its hard to find great all consuming books.

  • themugen

    In addition to the books listed here, I’d recommend JV Jones’ Sword of Shadows series.