If you like “The Riftwar Saga” by Raymond Feist, then you might enjoy…

Magician-Apprentice-The-Riftwar-Saga-1-by-Raymond-Feist.jpg
Pug is despite his name a human orphan and not a dog. He was chosen to study under the master magician Kulgan. They will soon discover that dark beings from another world have opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos. Pug ends up in the centre of this strife. Will he be strong enough to save his world?

Books,

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nightmares!

I remember I was spell-bound by this trilogy. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was one of the earlier fantasy series i read, and it was really good. All fantasy fans should read this trilogy.

Same area and same style. These two books flows the classical fantasy theme about a young boy growing up to be a powerful adult.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

WoT is a heavier read with logger more detailed descriptions than the Rift War Saga. If you can handle that, then you should give Wot a try.

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

Garion is a young boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Pawn of Prophecy, the first book in The Belgariad, is a splendid book. It is very old fashion classic fantasy with a boy growing up with special powers, a travelling quest, black and white morals and fighting the evil overlord. But it is written very well and it is absolutely worth reading. It might be a classic in the fantasy genre.

Pawn of prophecy is another book series where a young nobody grows to be someone powerful. And both are magicians. Great books.

Wizards-First-Rule-Sword-of-Truth-1-by-Terry-Goodkind.jpg

Richard Cypher, a young man in the Westland, helps out Kahlan Amnell, a young woman from the Midlands in trouble. She has managed to cross the boundary between the lands to see Zedd, of all people. She brings with her dark news from the other side of the Boundary. Darken Rahl, Ruler of D’Hara, has brought down the Boundary between D’Hara and the Midlands. Kahlan Amnell seeks a great wizard who had left the Midlands for the Magic free Westlands to have him Name a Seeker of Truth. That way they can find a way to defend them self against Darken Rahl.

I remember that I really liked The Sword of Truth. I guess i still do. I have read that some people complain about bad writing, that might be true, but I am very seldom affected by bad writing. I am more interesting in story and characters, and that it has. This book series is absolutely worth a try… if you have time for 11+ books with about 700 pages each.

Sword of Truth is yet another book series about a young ordinary boy growing up to become a powerful magician.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The Kingkiller Chronicle is a newer unfinished (2016) series that follows the same script with a young boy growing up top become a powerful mage. Kvothe goes to a magician school instead of having only one mentor to teach him.

The-Ruins-of-Gorlan-Rangers-Apprentice-1-by-John-A.-Flanagan.jpg

Will is fifteen and small for his age. At the choosing he is chosen to become the rangers apprentice. Rangers are seen as magical by the people, they are that good. They are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And now, there is a big battle brewing.

The Ruins of Gorlan is the first book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and it is really good. The other books in the series are some good and some bad.

Ranger’s Apprentice is geared slightly more toward YA audience, otherwise they have many similarities, especially in the beginning. Main difference is that Will becomes a ranger instead of a magician.

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

The Way of Shadows is the first book in the Night Angel Trilogy, an excellent book it is. The hours just fly by as we live the life of Kylar Stern.

The Night Angel Trilogy is more dark and brutal, and Azoth (Kylar Stern) becomes an assassin.

The-Icewind-Dale-Trilogy-Forgotten-Realms.jpg

The Icewind Dale trilogy tells the tale of ranger Drizzt Do’Urden the drow (or dark elf), Wulfgar the barbarian warrior, Regis the halfling, dwarf king Bruenor, and Bruenor’s adopted human daughter Catti-brie as they battle Akar Kessel, the wizard apprentice and his unholy army. The failed wizard aprentice Akar Kessel was left to but found Crenshinibon, the Crystal Shard, a magical, sentient crystal with the ability to lend power to its wielder, make tower sanctuaries in the likeness of itself, and insinuate itself into the minds of others, including that of its wielder. This gave him the power to gather an army to take over icewind dale with.

The Icewind Dale Trilogy is a good series, but the most important part about it was the introduction of Drizzt Do’Urden. He quickly become an iconic fantasy figure with many followup books dedicated to him.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity”, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians want her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden sewers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

A hobbit gets a ring and the wizard discover its evil power. They have to destroy it, but only one place can do that. A small fellowship is formed to get to he place it has to be destroyed. Orcs and other evils try to stop them… You know the story, no need for me to tell more of it.

The Lord of the Rings is a classic fantasy book and a must read for any fan of the genre.

TV-shows,

The-Shannara-Chronicles.jpg

This TV show is based on the Shannara books by Terry Brooks, mainly The Elfstones of Shannara. The Elvish tree, known as the Ellcrys, is responsible for sealing the daemons in a place known as the Forbidding. Now the Ellcrys is dying, and the daemons are slowly starting to come back from their banishment. Wil Ohmsford, grandson of Shea, and inheritor of the Elfstones, Amberle Elessedil, King Eventine’s granddaughter, and Allanon, the powerful last Druid of Paranor sets out to rescue the Ellcrys and stop the return of the daemons.

The TV show is ok-ish. Sadly it can’t give the books the justice they deserve. Its worth giving it a try if you like fantasy shows, but you still might en up not liking it.

Movies,

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-2001.jpg

In The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring we are introduces to Frodo as he receives the ring from Bilbo. He starts on his journey to Mordor to destroy the ring in the fires of Mount Doom. On his way there we are in this first part gradually introduced to his companions that will join him in a fellowship to destroy the ring. This journey will be full of perils, from small skirmishes, to large battles and to internal battles of the mind.

I remember I could barely wait for the next movie in this series when I first watched it. This is the first movie in a really good movie trilogy. It also keeps fairly close to the story told in the books. A must watch for everyone.

The-Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-2012.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavern. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

It’s strange how Peter Jackson can make a relatively short book like The Hobbit into three movies, but he has managed to do just that. I don`t mind, I really like the movies so far. The only bad part is having to wait so long for each of them. They are really good movies.

Willow-1988.jpg

There is a prophecy stating that a female child with a special birthmark will herald the downfall of the evil sorceress Queen Bavmorda. When a child like this was born she was sent down the river in a make shift raft in a desperate attempt to save here from Queen Bavmordas wrath. This child ends up with the farmer and conjurer Willow Ufgood and his family. His wife and children fall in love with the baby immediately, and Willow too soon grows to love her as one of his own. But when a Nockmaar hound attacks the village during a festival the village sorcerer, The High Aldwin, tasks Willow and a party of volunteers to return the baby to the humans. So begins an epic journey.

Willow is a classic fantasy movie that everyone should watch and it`s good for all ages.

Animes,

Tales-from-Earthsea-2006.jpg

The world of Earthsea is a world full of magic and wonder, wizards and dragons. In this world we meet Ged, a wandering wizard, who is investigating why dragons are entering the world of humans. He meets Prince Arren who is manipulated by the witch named Kumo. And so the fun begins.

Tales from Earthsea are based on the books written by Ursula K. Le Guin, it has been changed significantly from the books. It is still worth to see, as long as you do not expect to get a real visualization of the stories from the books.