If you like “The Night Angel Trilogy” by Brent Weeks, then you might enjoy…

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

If you like The Way of Shadows (The Night Angel Trilogy #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books. I find them to have some degree of similarity with The Way of Shadows.

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

Book

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soiless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promesing medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

This book is highly recommended. It starts of a very promising series. If you like fantasy books, then this is a must read.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The-Lies-of-Locke-Lamora-The-Gentleman-Bastard-1-by-Scott-Lynch.jpg

Locke Lamora, born in the island city of Camorr with a quick wit and a gift for thieving, has dodged both death and slavery, only to fall into the hands of an eyeless priest known as Chains. A man who is neither blind nor a priest, but a con artist of extraordinary talent. Chains passes his skills on to his carefully selected gang of orphans, a group known as the Gentlemen Bastards. Under Chains guiding hand, Locke grows to lead the Gentlemen Bastards, delightedly pulling off one outrageous confidence game after another. A shadowy and ambitious figur, known as the Gray King is using Locke Lamora as a pawn in his play to take control of Camorr’s underworld. With a bloody coup under way threatening to destroy everyone and everything that he cares for, Locke vows to beat the Gray King at his own game, or die trying.

I have only read the first book in this series, but I plan to read the rest later.

Luck-in-the-Shadows-Nightrunner-1-by-Lynn-Flewelling.jpg

Alec is taken prisoner for a crime he didn’t commit and his life looks like it will soon come to an end. He is however lucky enough to be cellmate with Seregil, a spy, rogue, thief, and a noble man. He helps Alec to escape and offers him an apprenticeship.

Soon Alec is travelling roads he never knew existed, toward a war he never suspected was brewing. They soon become entangled in a devious plot that runs deeper they can imagine. Complicating things further is Alecs discovery of Seregil sexual preferences and his growing and confusing feelings toward Seregil.

This is a really great book. This is an absolute must read… as long as you are not homophobic.

Assassins-Apprentice-Realm-of-the-Elderlings-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stableboy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Both books tells the story about how two boys are raised up to be assassins.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity”, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians wants her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden suers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

Blood-Song-Ravens-Shadow-1-by-Anthony-Ryan.jpg

Vaelin Al Sorna was only a ten year old child when his father left him at the gate of the Sixth Order. Sixth of in all seven orders, the Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. The other orders of the faith has each its own special field of responsibility. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to have a chance of survive the dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order, his brothers in arms. Vaelin Al Sorna is destined for a future he has yet to comprehend. A future that will alter not only the Realm, but the world.

Blood Song is the first book in the Raven’s Shadow series. I know many people love this book, I liked to, but I fell out for a while. There was something that made me loose attention at the end of the first book and the beginning of the second. However, I liked it enough to keep reading the books when they come.

Theft-of-Swords-The-Riyria-Revelations-1-by-Michael-J.-Sullivan.jpg

Royce Melborn and Hadrian Blackwater works together as an infamous group of thieves. They make a living taking on high paying jobs for conspiring noblemen. In there last job, stealing a duellists famous sword, they become the unwitting scapegoats in a plot to murder the king. Sentenced to death, they are presented with an unexpected way out of their predicament. This finds them suddenly entangled in in a larger conspiracy regarding the leadership of not only their own kingdom, but the empire as well.

This book is the start of an good and entertaining series. It might not be among the best fantasy series, but it is absolutely worth reading.

They might not be assassins, but they are sneaky thieves. It`s a milder book, but otherwise quite similar.

Spiders-Bite-Elemental-Assassin-1-by-Jennifer-Estep.jpg

Gin Blanco is the Spider, the most feared assassin in the south, but here day job is at the Pork Pit, here restaurant, the best barbecue in Ashland. She is both a stone elemental and an ice elemental. She tries to not use it while working as the Spider, but it is handy from time to time. Gin`s family was murdered by a notorious Fire elemental when she was thirteen. She ended on the streets but was found by Fletcher Lane, the assassin called the Tin Man. He become her mentor and handler and trained her to become the superior assassin she is to day.

This is a really good series, absolute worth reading. I know some complain a little on her writing skills, to much redundancy, but it did not bother me.

Both has lived on the streets. They where found and raised by infamous assassins and trained to be excellent assassins them self.

Poison-Study-The-Study-1-by-Maria-V.-Snyder.jpg

Yelena is sentenced to death for committing murder, but she is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She is offered to become the food taster for the commander of Ixia. This is a dangerous job where she risks assassination by anyone trying to kill the commander. The chief of security leaves nothing to chance and deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust, only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison. Yelena tries to escape her punishment but she gets tied up in rebel plots and here own newly found magical powers that she can’t control.

Poison Study is the first book in The Study series. It is an excellent book that is absolutely worth giving a try.

Yelena is a food taster and thus under constant threat from assassins. She is on the other side of the coin, but they still feels somewhat similar.

So there you have it, 12 ideas for what to do after finishing The Way of Shadows. What do you recommend, please mention why you recommend it to?