If you like “The Lord of the Rings” by J.R.R. Tolkien, then you might enjoy…

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

If you like The Lord of the Rings (The Lord of the Rings #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books, TV-shows, Movies and Animes. I find them to have some degree of similarity with The Lord of the Rings.

Book

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, its an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon, and the rest of the The Inheritance Cycle, is ok books, but not more than that. They are worth reading, but only if you do not have anything better at hand.

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

Garion is a young boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Pawn of Prophecy, the first book in The Belgariad, is a splendid book. It is very old fashion classic fantasy with a boy growing up with special powers, a travelling quest, black and white morals and fighting the evil overlord. But it is written very well and it is absolutely worth reading. It might be a classic in the fantasy genre.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I dont think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

The-Hobbit-or-There-and-Back-Again.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavarn. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

The Hobbit, or There and Back Again, is a really good book. It might be mainly targeted for children, but it is also great for adults… Or at least adults like me.

Dragons-of-Autumn-Twilight-Dragonlance-Chronicles-1-by-Margaret-Weis.jpg

A group of friends, consisting of Tanis, Sturm, Caramon, Raistlin, Flint, and Tasslehoff, come together after five years of pursuing their own quests. Tanis is a half-elf and de facto leader of the companions. Sturm Brightblade is a squire to the Knights of Solamnia and a deeply honorable man. Caramon Majere is a huge, muscular, sometimes slow-thinking warrior, with a deep affection for his brother, Raistlin. Raistlin Majere is a powerful, sarcastic, cynical, frail mage of the Red Robes. Flint Fireforge, a gruff old dwarf and old friend of Tanis.Tasslehoff Burrfoot, a happy-go-lucky, not-so-innocent, and genial kender.

The companions discovers that the village they are meting in has been taken over by a religious order called the Seekers. And the Seekers are collaborating with the Dragon Highlords, who are preparing for the conquest of their continent. The companions soon find them self chased by these evil forces and enemies of the realm.

I had some reservations before starting on these books. I thought Dragonlance was some low quality role-playing fantasy shit, but I was wrong. Dragonlance Chronicles are great books. They are absolute worth reading.

The-Dwarves-Dwarves-1-by-Markus-Heitz.jpg

Tungdil is a blacksmith and the only dwarf in a kingdom of men. He has never seen another dwarf until he is sent to deliver a message and reacquaint himself with his people. Tungdil, who have never been trained as a warrior, finds himself in the midst of a battle. A Battle that dos not only threaten him, but the life of every man, woman and child in Girdlegard. Can he embrace his true heritage and become the dwarf they all need to save Girdlegard.

I have only read the first book. If they come out n audio book I might read the rest too, but they are not good enough to read with my eyes. The story is an average fantasy story, and the only thing that makes it unique is that we follow a dwarf. Not to much of stories with that view point around.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Assassins-Apprentice-Realm-of-the-Elderlings-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stableboy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Magician-Apprentice-The-Riftwar-Saga-1-by-Raymond-Feist.jpg

Pug is despite his name a human orphan and not a dog. He was chosen to study under the master magician Kulgan. They will soon discover that dark beings from another world have opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos. Pug ends up in the centre of this strife. Will he be strong enough to save his world?

The Riftwar Saga is a great series. Magician: Apprentice starts out like most coming of age fantasy books, but it is written exceptionally good. Absolute worth reading.

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nighmares!

I remember I was spell bound by this trilogy. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was one of the earlier fantasy series i read, and it was really good. All fantasy fans should read this trilogy.

The-Dark-Elf-Trilogy-Legend-of-Drizzt-1-by-R.-A.-Salvatore.jpg

The Dark Elf Trilogy follows the story of Drizzt Do’Urden from the time around his birth and to his departure from Menzoberranzan, the drow city. It goes on to tell about his story in the open wilderness of the Underdark, a cave like world under the suffice of the earth. Later we follow him to the surface of the world and watch him facing adversity due to the infamy of his kin. All the way he is facing dangers and struggling with emotions of leaving his homeland and his difference from other dark elfs.

The dark elf trilogy is a really great story. It shows us the beginning of Drizzt Do’Urden life, the most popular character created by Salvatore. This is a highly recommended book and a must read for any Forgotten Realms fan.

TV

Game-of-Thrones-TV.jpg

Noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. They are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. This is a grand story of duplicity and treachery, nobility and honor, conquest and triumph. When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die. While the noble families play their deadly game a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Only a neglected military order of sinners and outcasts, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and this ancient evil.

Legend-Of-The-Seeker-TV.jpg

The Legend Of The Seeker follows the adventures of Richard Cypher the new “Seeker of Truth”, Kahlan Amnell the last Mother Confessor, Zeddicus Zu’l Zorander a wizard of the first order, Cara a warrior (Mord-Sith) as they fight for the people of their realm against tyrants and destroyers. The TV show differ substantially the books (Sword of Truth).

I have only seen season one, I was a little irritated that it differ so much from the book series. However, I do plan to give it another chance.

Movie

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-Movie-2001.jpg

In The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring we are introduces to Frodo as he receives the ring from Bilbo. He starts on his journey to Mordor to destroy the ring in the fires of Mount Doom. On his way there we are in this first part gradually introduced to hi companions that will join him in a fellowship to destroy the ring. This journey will be full of perils, from small skirmishes, to large battles and to internal battles of the mind.

I remember I could barely wait for the next movie in this series when I first watched it. This is the first movie in a really good movie trilogy. It also keeps fairly close to the story told in the books. A must watch for everyone.

The-Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-Movie-2012.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavarn. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

Its strange how Peter Jackson can make a relatively short book like The Hobbit into three movies, but he has managed to do just that. I don`t mind, I really like the movies so far. The only bad part is having to wait so long for each of them. They are really good movies.

Star-Wars-Movie-1977.jpg

Luke Skywalker joins forces with Obi-Wan Kenobi, a jedi knight and the two droids C-3PO and R2-D2. They also joins up with the scoundrel Han Solo and his hairy friend Chewbacca. Together they help out the Rebel Alliance by attempting to rescue their beautiful leader, Princess Leia, from the clutches of the Empire and their evil leaders. This is the first movie (not first in viewing order) in the epic science fiction saga Star Wars.

Star Wars is a must see series of movies. Episode IV: A New Hope, Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back, and Episode VI: Return of the Jedi are legendary. Episode I, II and III are not as good, but they are still a must if you like star wars.

Star Wars is not exactly in the same genre, but if you look away from the futuristic part then they have a very similar feel to them.

Eragon-Movie-2006.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, its an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon kind of sucks. Its only worth watching if you read the books, love dragons or need to watch every fantasy movie that have been shown on the big screen.

Anime

Record-of-Lodoss-War-Anime.jpg

The kingdoms of Lodoss have been ravaged by war for thousands of years. Now evil ancient goddess of destruction has been awakened by an evil wizard. A party of six is forged to defeat this threat, or die trying. Parn, a young fighter, is the leader these warriors and have to lead them into the heart of a land where dragons rule and evil holds controls the earth.

Record of Lodoss War is a grate anime. It has much in common with fantasy books and it is absolutely worth watching.

The-Twelve-Kingdoms-Anime.jpg

Nakajima Youko is your average high school girl, but one day, a man named Keiki come to her. He is swearing his allegiance to her and before she could understand what happens a demon-like creatures attack Youko. As this is happening Youko and her friends are pulled into a different world, a world unlike anything they have ever seen. And so begins an epic adventure.

The Twelve Kingdoms are a really great anime. It`s a must watch for any anime fan and other people might also like it.

Her you go, 19 recommendations from me to you. Do you have any to give in return?

  • I’ve only read the first books Magician master & apprentice, but I though they were okay. I couldn’t stand the differences is Legend of the Seeker! I bet it was hard to make this list, because there are so many books that just copy LOTR.

    • Some of the “copies” are actually quite good. I had some problems with the Legend of the Seeker in the beginning too, but I turned my mind over and just thought of it as an alternative story.

  • My guy is a HUGE fan of Tolkien, and he’s one of the worst people to shop for when Christmas rolls around. Thanks for sharing this great list; you’ve given me a few helpful gift ideas. He’s already addicted to GoT, so that one’s out, and having read Paolini’s series, I don’t think it’s for him. Some of those other titles though are definite maybes though.

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads.

    • The inheritance Cycle by Paolini is not that good. I only added it because some people love it and I think it has lots of similarities with LotR.

  • That is a REALLY long list. I think a couple of them (Eddings, Williams) basically DID write Tolkien books; at least at first. Hobb and GRRM are my favorite from the list though. Oh, and Le Guin.

    • Yes, some of the are almost Tolkien copies. Books like the Belgariad series have many similarities, but they are still really good books.