If you like “The Inheritance Cycle”, then you might enjoy…

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

The Inheritance Cycle is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books, Movies and Animes.

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, its an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Book

The-Ruins-of-Gorlan-Rangers-Apprentice-1-by-John-A.-Flanagan.jpg

Will is fifteen and small for his age. At the choosing he is chosen to become the rangers apprentice. Rangers are seen as magical by the people, they are that good. They are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And now, there is a big battle brewing.

The Ruins of Gorlan is the first book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and it is really good. The other books in the series are some good and some bad.

Both book series are mainly written for younger people, like young adults, but they are still worth reading for those of us starting to sag her and there.

The-Amulet-of-Samarkand-Bartimaeus-Sequence-1-by-Jonathan-Stroud.jpg

Britain is ruled by powerful magicians, and Nathaniel, a young boy, is sold to the government by his birth parents. Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny” as he is sent to live as an apprentice to Arthur Underwood, a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician. Nathaniel hones his magic skills to be able to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to take revenge on ruthless magician Simon Lovelace who publicly humiliated him. He plans to do this by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Lovelace. Nathaniel is plunged into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

This is a well paced story with a good plot. You should read this series, it is really good.
he story itself is well-paced and complex enough to keep the reader guessing.

The Bartimaeus books are are also great books for a younger audience, but they are still good for the rest of us too. Bartimaeus is a much more witty and interesting character then any of the characters in Eragon.

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

A hobbit gets a ring and the wizard discover its evil power. They have to destroy it, but only one place can do that. A small fellowship is formed to get to he place it has to be destroyed. Orcs and other evils try to stop them… You know the story, no need for me to tell more of it.

The Lord of the Rings is a classic fantasy book and a must read for any fan of the genre.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I don’t think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

Dragonriders-of-Pern-Dragonriders-of-Pern-1-by-Anne-McCaffrey.jpg

Humans and their flying dragon companions live in fear of thread, a caustic, deadly material that falls sporadically from space. But when the thread doesn’t fall for a long time, people become complacent, forgetting that it is the brave dragonriders who can save them from the periodic threat. But when the thread falls, human and dragon heroes must fight the scourge. – Amazon

Great books. It’s a while since I read them, but they are great.

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

Garion is a boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Pawn of Prophecy, the first book in The Belgariad, is a splendid book. It is very old fashion classic fantasy with a boy growing up with special powers, a travelling quest, black and white morals and fighting the evil overlord. But it is written very well and it is absolutely worth reading. It might be a classic in the fantasy genre.

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

Dragon-Champion-Age-of-Fire-1-by-E.E.-Knight.jpg

Auron, a rare defenseless gray dragon that might be the last of his breed, witnesses the slaughter of his parents at the hands of a band of dwarves. Once out of the mountain cave he was born in, he quickly learns just how dangerous it is to be a dragon. With dwarves, elves, and humans relentlessly hunting him. Armed with nothing but his claws and a determination to survive, he sets off in search of his kind. But to find other dragons-or, at least, find out who’s killing them off. Dragon Champion is the first book in the Age of Fire series. Some of the other books in the series shows us how it goes with Auro`s siblings once they flee the cave.

This is a fun and different fantasy book. You should read this, as long as you do not mind reading from the point of view of a dragon.

DRAGONS, thats the main similarity between the books. Dragons are fun, dragons are cool, I love dragons.

The-Hobbit-or-There-and-Back-Again.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavern. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

The Hobbit, or There and Back Again, is a really good book. It might be mainly targeted for children, but it is also great for adults… Or at least adults like me.

Movie

Eragon-Movie-2006.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, it’s an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon kind of sucks. Its only worth watching if you read the books, love dragons or need to watch every fantasy movie that have been shown on the big screen.

I kind of felt that I had to mention it, but it is not that good. However, it is still worth a watch as long as you have read the books.

The-Hobbit-An-Unexpected-Journey-Movie-2012.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavarn. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

It’s strange how Peter Jackson can make a relatively short book like The Hobbit into three movies, but he has managed to do just that. I don`t mind, I really like the movies so far. The only bad part is having to wait so long for each of them. They are really good movies.

Dragonheart-Movie-1996.jpg

The dragon Draco and the human Bowen teem up to scam poor villagers out of their hard-earned money. First Draco terrorize some poor villagers, then Bowen comes in as the fearless dragon hunter and “kills” the scary dragon for a big sum of money. Their perfect act comes to a halt when they have to deal with an evil king that Draco healed and give partial immortality in the kings innocent youth.

Draco is one of the coolest dragons in any movie, and I would love to have a friend like him. Some book dragons like Temeraire are cooler, but Draco is still among the best.

Anime

Record-of-Lodoss-War-Anime.jpg

The kingdoms of Lodoss have been ravaged by war for thousands of years. Now evil ancient goddess of destruction has been awakened by an evil wizard. A party of six is forged to defeat this threat, or die trying. Parn, a young fighter, is the leader these warriors and have to lead them into the heart of a land where dragons rule and evil holds controls the earth.

Record of Lodoss War is a great anime. It has much in common with fantasy books and it is absolutely worth watching.

Tales-from-Earthsea-Anime-2006.jpg

The world of Earthsea is a world full of magic and wonder, wizards and dragons. In this world we meet Ged, a wandering wizard, who is investigating why dragons are entering the world of humans. He meets Prince Arren who is manipulated by the witch named Kumo. And so the fun begins.

Tales from Earthsea are based on the books written by Ursula K. Le Guin, it has been changed significantly from the books. It is still worth to see, as long as you do not expect to get a real visualization of the stories from the books.

What do you think, are they similar to Eragon? Anything else you think should be on this list?