If you like “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, then you might enjoy…

The-Hunger-Games-The-Hunger-Games-1-by-Suzanne-Collins.jpg

If you like The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books, Movies and Animes. I find them to have some degree of similarity with The Hunger Games.

Panem is a nation consisting of a shining Capitol for the wealthy surrounded by twelve outlying poorer districts. Long ago a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and as part of the surrender terms, each of the twelve surviving districts agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen year old girl from district twelve, ends up as the female tribute from her district. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives.

Book

Poison-Study-The-Study-1-by-Maria-V.-Snyder.jpg

Yelena is sentenced to death for committing murder, but she is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She is offered to become the food taster for the commander of Ixia. This is a dangerous job where she risks assassination by anyone trying to kill the commander. The chief of security leaves nothing to chance and deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust, only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison. Yelena tries to escape her punishment but she gets tied up in rebel plots and here own newly found magical powers that she can’t control.

Poison Study is the first book in The Study series. It is an excellent book that is absolutely worth giving a try.

Divergent-Divergent-1-by-Veronica-Roth.jpg

The dystopian society in Divergent is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. Candor the honest, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Amity the peaceful, and Erudite the intelligent. On an appointed day all sixteen year old teens must select the faction they want too devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice has to decide between staying with her family in Amity or choosing to be who she really is. She can’t have both, and the choice she makes ends up to surprises everyone, including herself. Beatrice takes the new name Tris when she joins her new faction. She discover that she also has a secret, one she has to keep hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death.

Many people like this book, but I`m not a big fan. It was ok, but I did not read the rest of the books in the series.

Both typical teenage girl books, (why do I reed so many of those…), and both have been made into movies. The are both set in an dystopian society, and they have a strong female as lead character. Divergent do not have a deadly fight to the death game, but it is still deadly dangers they have to survive.

Battle-Royale-by-Koushun-Takami.jpg

In an alternative future Japan a group of junior high students are forced to fight to the death! The students are taken to a deserted island where, as part of a ruthless authoritarian program, they are provided arms and forced to kill one another until only one survivor is left standing. If they dear to break the rules a special collar blows their heads off.

Teens fighting for survival in a twisted game. Probably the most similar book out there.

Twilight-Twilight-Saga-1-by-Stephenie-Meyer.jpg

When Bella Swan moves to the Forks, a small, cloudy and rainy town in Washington, she meets Edward Cullen. Her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she discovers that the beautiful Edward is a vampire. They becomes lovers, but what Bella doesn’t realize is the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires.

Twilight is the first book in the Twilight Saga. I remember I liked the books, but they are not good enough for a reread. That might be because I am both the wrong gender and above the target age.

They are actually not that similar. One is sci fi while the other is paranormal. Twilight have vampires and werewolves while there are only regular humans in Hunger Games. However they both have a similar feel to them, only Twilight is a little heavier on the romance. They both have the same target audience, teen age girls, bean adopted into popular movie version.

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

I am not sure why I think they belong together, but I think they do. If you like one then I am quite sure you will like the other too.

Enders-Game-The-Ender-Quintet-1-by-Orson-Scott-Card-.jpg

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

Do not judge a book by its authors personal views. This is an excellent book, and you should not forego it because of Orson Scott Card stupid personal views.

They are both set in futuristic sci-fi universe, but Ender`s Game is set in space while The Hunger Games takes place on the surface of a post-post-apocalyptic world (if that is a word). These books are similar in that they both consist of children/teens competing and playing in brutal “games”. Warrior training is a big part in The Hunger Games and Ender`s Game.

Movie

Divergent-Divergent-1-Movie-2014.jpg

The dystopian society in Divergent is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. Candor the honest, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Amity the peaceful, and Erudite the intelligent. On an appointed day all sixteen year old teens must select the faction they want too devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice has to decide between staying with her family in Amity or choosing to be who she really is. She can’t have both, and the choice she makes ends up to surprises everyone, including herself. Beatrice takes the new name Tris when she joins her new faction. She discover that she also has a secret, one she has to keep hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death.

This is one of the rear and strange exceptions where I liked the movie better than the book. This is probably because of me not liking the book to much, since the movie is just slightly above average.

Look at the book version for more information.

Enders-Game-Movie-2013.jpg

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

This is actually a quite good adoption of the book. It is not as good as the book, but it`s still a good movie. You should watch this.

They both have Game in there titles… They have some of the same feel to them. Young people are chosen, it is dangerous, and both have a game that are central to the story. The zero-gravity game they play in Ender`s Game is not a game to the death like the one in The Hunger Games.

Gamer-Movie-2009.jpg

In a dystopic future, prisoners on death row are given a small chance of survival as living avatars for FPS game players who control their bodies. This is a hardcore mode game, if you die, then you stay die.

This is an interesting and fun movie worthy the time it take to watch.

People are fighting to death for others amusement. Convigts are controlled by players in a FPS to the death.

Death-Race-Movie-2008.jpg

Hardened convicts in a futuristic maximum-security prison take part in brutal races with modified cars in the most twisted sport on Earth. They race around the prison island, their violent deaths watched live by millions of viewers.

Intense action packed movie, fun to watch if you are looking for some brainless fast paced action.

People are fighting with deadly outcome for others amusement. Convicts are racing against each other with no rules.

Anime

Deadman-Wonderland-Anime-2011.jpg

Ganta is the only survivor after a mysterious man in red slaughters a classroom full of high school students. He’s framed for the carnage and sentenced to die. He is locked away in Deadman Wonderland, the most twisted prison ever built. Convicts are forced into brutal deathmatches for the amusement of the masses. Ganta discovers the he has a strange ability to wield his blood as a weapon. He learns that his new skill might be related to the mysterious man in red and uncovers secrets that could expose those who stole his freedom.

This is an ok anime, not among the best. If you like animes, then it is still worth a try. If you are new to animes, then you should probably start with another show.

People are fighting to death for others amusement. In Deadman Wonderland only convicts are fighting each other.

So there you have it, 12 ideas for what to do after finishing The Hunger Games. What do you recommend, please mention why you recommend it to?