If you like “The Ender Quintet” by Orson Scott Card , then you might enjoy…

Enders-Game-The-Ender-Quintet-1-by-Orson-Scott-Card-.jpg

The Ender Quintet is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books, Movies and Animes.

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

Book

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

The-Amulet-of-Samarkand-Bartimaeus-Sequence-1-by-Jonathan-Stroud.jpg

Britain is ruled by powerful magicians, and Nathaniel, a young boy, is sold to the government by his birth parents. Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny” as he is sent to live as an apprentice to Arthur Underwood, a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician. Nathaniel hones his magic skills to be able to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to take revenge on ruthless magician Simon Lovelace who publicly humiliated him. He plans to do this by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Lovelace. Nathaniel is plunged into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

This is a well paced story with a good plot. You should read this series, it is really good.
he story itself is well-paced and complex enough to keep the reader guessing.

Ender and Bartimaeus are both highly intelligent and has a sharp tongue.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

Both books are about gifted young boys that joins a special school and excels against all odds. Only one is medieval fantasy while the other is futuristic science fiction.

The-Hunger-Games-The-Hunger-Games-1-by-Suzanne-Collins.jpg

Panem is a nation consisting of a shining Capitol for the wealthy surrounded by twelve outlying poorer districts. Long ago a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and as part of the surrender terms, each of the twelve surviving districts agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen year old girl from district twelve, ends up as the female tribute from her district. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives.

This is the first book in The Hunger Games trilogy. This books are worth reading, not among the best, but still worth the time.

They are both set in futuristic sci-fi universe, but Ender`s Game is set in space while The Hunger Games takes place on the surface of a post-post-apocalyptic world (if that is a word). These books are similar in that they both consist of children/teens competing and playing in brutal “games”. Warrior training is a big part in The Hunger Games and Ender`s Game.

Divergent-Divergent-1-by-Veronica-Roth.jpg

The dystopian society in Divergent is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. Candor the honest, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Amity the peaceful, and Erudite the intelligent. On an appointed day all sixteen year old teens must select the faction they want to devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice has to decide between staying with her family in Amity or choosing to be who she really is. She can’t have both, and the choice she makes ends up to surprises everyone, including herself. Beatrice takes the new name Tris when she joins her new faction. She discover that she also has a secret, one she has to keep hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death.

Many people like this book, but I`m not a big fan. It was ok, but I did not read the rest of the books in the series.

Enders game is in space, while divergent is on the surface of a post apocalyptic world. Fighting and marshal-arts training are a big part of both Divergent and Ender`s Game.

Starship-Troopers-by-Robert-A.-Heinlein.jpg

Juan Rico signed up with the Federal Service on a lark, but despite the hardships and rigorous training, he finds himself determined to make it as a cap trooper. In boot camp he will learn how to become a soldier.

I barely remember reading this book as a young teenager, but I remember that it was really good. I think I have to add it to my reading list again.

Both books are about military training. They are invaded/defending/attacking giant bug like aliens that threaten their world. Ender is more on brainy command side of the military while Rico is more on the brutal infantry side of the battle. Don`t worry, the book is nothing like the so much criticized movie (which I actually remember liking as a young boy).

Movie

Independence-Day-Movie-1996.jpg

Alien UFO comes to earth and places themselves above our biggest cities. We try to communicate with them in hopes that they are friendly, but we are not so lucky. They fire a beam of destruction down on the cities and sends out fighter planes. Our survival hangs on a small group of determined people who might be able to find their weakness.

I remember I watched this multiple times as a kid. I truly loved it. I think I need to re-watch it. Se if the movie hold up to the nostalgia.

Enders-Game-Movie-2013.jpg

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

This is actually a quite good adoption of the book. It is not as good as the book, but it`s still a good movie. You should watch this.

It is the movie adaptation of the book, need I say more… I Actually liked this adaptation.

The-Hunger-Games-The-Hunger-Games-1-Movie-2012.jpg

Every year in the Capitol of the nation of Panem forces each of its twelve districts to send a teenage boy and girl to compete in the Hunger Games. A game where they have to fight each other for survival and only one of the 24 contestants will survive. Sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen volunteers in her younger sister’s place and must fight against highly trained Tributes who have prepared their entire lives.

The Hunger Games is an ok movie. Probably better for a teenage audience, but it is still worth watching.

Same reasons as for the book.

Divergent-Divergent-1-Movie-2014.jpg

The dystopian society in Divergent is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. Candor the honest, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Amity the peaceful, and Erudite the intelligent. On an appointed day all sixteen year old teens must select the faction they want to devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice has to decide between staying with her family in Amity or choosing to be who she really is. She can’t have both, and the choice she makes ends up to surprises everyone, including herself. Beatrice takes the new name Tris when she joins her new faction. She discover that she also has a secret, one she has to keep hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death.

This is one of the rear and strange exceptions where I liked the movie better than the book. This is probably because of me not liking the book too much, since the movie is just slightly above average.

For the same reasons as the book.

Anime

Death-Note-Anime-2006.jpg

Yagami Light is a 17-year-old genius from Japan. One day he stumbles upon a notebook with the words “Death Note” written on the front. unbeknownst to Light, this book used to belong to Shinigami (death Good) called Ryuk. The first sentence in this book states that anyone whose name is written inside will die. Light falls for his all to human curiosity and try the book. Discovering that this is actually true, Light decide to use this power to change the world in his image and become God of the New World. Light soon meats resistance from another genius known as L. He is working against Light’s beliefs and Light himself.

This is a really good anime. This might be a good starting point if you never have watched animes before. If you have experience with animes then you probably already have watched this show.

Do you agree? Anything else you think should be on this list?