If you like “The Dresden Files” by Jim Butcher, then you might enjoy…

Storm-Front-The-Dresden-Files-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The Dresden Files is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you wil love some of the following Books and TV-shows.

Harry Dresden, a Chicago bound professional wizard, and the only one with an add in the yellow pages. Business is sadly dreadful, so he jumps on it when the local police bring him in as a consultant on a strange double murder.

Book

Hounded-The-Iron-Druid-Chronicles-1-by-Kevin-Hearne.jpg

Atticus O’Sullivan is the last of the Druids and runns an occult bookshop in Arizona. He is an handsome, tattooed Irish dude that looks like he is in his early twenties but he is actuality over twenty centuries old. Atticus is shape shifting in his spare time to hunt with his Irish wolfhound. He is giving the dog the same life extending potions that he take himself, so his dog is way older than the average seven years a wolfhound gets. When they are not hunting they watch movies and have witty conversations together. Atticus draws his power from the earth, possesses a sharp wit, and wields an even sharper magical sword known as Fragarach that can cut whatever it hits. In this first book a very angry Celtic god wants that sword, and he’s hounded Atticus for centuries. He has finally tracked Atticus down. How is Atticus going to handle a good?

This is the start of an exiting page-turning series where you often laugh out loud from all the witty commentaries. This series is absolutely recommended.

Both have protagonists with magical powers, a sharp witty thong and a funny companion. Atticus is not a magician but a druid, and his companion is not a spirit but a funny dog.

Enchanted-Inc.-Enchanted-Inc.-1-by-Shanna-Swendson.jpg

Katie Chandler is a small town small-town Texas girl that just have moved in with her friends in New York. She has always heard that New York is a weird and wonderful place, but she newer new how strange. Everywhere she goes she sees something strange, people with wings whose feet do not touch the ground, small moving gnome statues and a stone gargoyle that changes positions and buildings. This makes Katie afraid she’s a little too normal to make a splash in the big city. Katie gets a job offer from Magic, Spells, and Illusions, Inc. There she learns what all the stuff she see realy is. And Katie learns that her ordinariness is an asset for MSI.

This book is the first in the Enchanted, Inc. series and it is an easy read with a witty style. This is a good mix of the chick lit and the paranormal genres.

Katie might be a woman, and without any form of magic, but she is still kicking ass. I am not entierly sur why I feel they belong together… Merlin is in both series, bu that cant be the only reason… Or can it.

Monster-Hunter-International-Monster-Hunter-1-by-Larry-Correia.jpg

Owen Zastava Pitt`s boss suddenly changed into an aggressive werewolf wile Owen worked overtime. Owen pushed him out of the fourteenth story office window, he woke up in the hospital with a scarred face and a job offer. Monster Hunter International, his new employer, is the premier monster eradication company in the business. They wanted Owen because he managed to kill a werewolf single handedly without any weapons.

This is the first book in the Monster Hunter series and an ancient entity known as the Cursed One has returned to settle a centuries old vendetta. If the the Cursed One should succeed, it would mean the end of the world. MHI is the only thing standing in his way.

It’s not perfect, but it’s really close, and a fine read. I highly recommend this book.

Both have some kick ass protagonists. One might be a regular human, but he is still hunting monsters with the pros. Most supernatural beings in Monster Hunter International are dangerous monsters that needs to be put down, this is not the case in The Dresden Files.

Dead-Witch-Walking-The-Hollows-1-by-Kim-Harrison.jpg

Rachel Mariana Morgan,a twenty something witch, is an equal partner in ‘Vampiric Charms’, a freelance security service. Her partners are Ivy Tamwood, a living vampire (She becmes a full vampire if she dies), and Jenks, a pixy. They all just to work with the vampire-run federal Inderland Security (IS) police service.

Overall, an exciting, fun read, that`s hard to put down. This is a highly recommended Fast-paced and captivating book.

A hardcore witch is taking on cases as a P.I., almost like Harry dos. Instead of the summer and winter court dimensions we have the demon world instead. It has the same feel to it as The Dresden Files, only she is a woman, not a man.

The-Book-of-Jhereg-Vlad-Taltos-1-by-Steven-Brust-.jpg

Vlad Taltos is an wise-cracking assassin and mobster. Being an Easterner in the Dragaeran city of Adrilankha is not easy but despite that, Vlad has managed to become a minor boss in the criminal syndicate of the Jhereg Organization. He arrogantly accepts a job with a staggeringly large reward from an extremely powerful and fared member of the Organization’s ruling Council. The job is to assassinate Mellar, another Jhereg crime lord who has absconded with a fortune from the Jhereg treasury. No on steels from the organization and survives, or get a fast death.

The-Amulet-of-Samarkand-Bartimaeus-Sequence-1-by-Jonathan-Stroud.jpg

Britain is ruled by powerful magicians, and Nathaniel, a young boy, is sold to the government by his birth parents. Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny” as he is sent to live as an apprentice to Arthur Underwood, a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician. Nathaniel hones his magic skills to be able to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to take revenge on ruthless magician Simon Lovelace who publicly humiliated him. He plans to do this by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Lovelace. Nathaniel is plunged into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

This is a well paced story with a good plot. You should read this series, it is really good.
he story itself is well-paced and complex enough to keep the reader guessing. It ends independently but with enough loose ends to point to an obvious sequel, which I for one eagerly await. Very highly recommended.

I guess the only reason they are similar are the similarity between Bartimaeus and Harry. They are both witty characters. Anyho, if you like one, you will probably like the other to. Even if you do not think those two characters are similar.

Skinwalker-Jane-Yellowrock-1-by-Faith-Hunter.jpg

Jane Yellowrock is a skinwalker that shares her body with the soul of a mountain lion. She can take any form aslong as the has some bones with DNA from them. Jane works as a freelance rogue-vampire hunter. In this first book she is hired to take care of a nasty rogue-vampire in New Orleans. When she is there she comes in contact with the vampire society and learns the about the “sane” vampires. She also learns more about her own Cherokee heritage,

Great story and strong characters makes this a great series. You should read this.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

The same author, otherwise not that much in common.

Spiders-Bite-Elemental-Assassin-1-by-Jennifer-Estep.jpg

Gin Blanco is the Spider, the most feared assassin in the south, but here day job is at the Pork Pit, here restaurant, the best barbecue in Ashland. She is both a stone elemental and an ice elemental. She tries to not use it while working as the Spider, but it is handy from time to time. Gin`s family was murdered by a notorious Fire elemental when she was thirteen. She ended on the streets but was found by Fletcher Lane, the assassin called the Tin Man. He become her mentor and handler and trained her to become the superior assassin she is to day.

This is a really good series, absolute worth reading. I know some complain a little on her writing skills, to much redundancy, but it did not bother me.

Moon-Dance-Vampire-for-Hire-1-by-J.R.-Rain.jpg

Samantha Moon, is a female vampire with a husband and children, and she works a s a private investigator. She’s trying to balance her family life and her private eye business with her somewhat inconvenient condition. Sadly her husband has an increasing problem with her body temperature. Luckily for her she finds a new romantic interest while she is on a job for a new client. Sadly as the case unfolds, Samantha discovers that her client, Kingsley, isn’t exactly what he appears to be.

I am not sure if it is good or bad that the books are so short. The good thing is that I can finish it without taking any kind of break, but the sad part is that it is over to son. This is a book you should try out. If you are among the few that dos not like it, then it is only good that the book is so short.

TV

The-Dresden-Files-TV.jpg

HARRY DRESDEN — WIZARD Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations. Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates. No Love Potions, Endless Purses, Parties, or Other Entertainment.

Harry Dresden is a wizard from Chicago that works as a private investigator. He actually advertises in the Chicago yellow pages, with the add written above. He also works as a consultant to the Chicago police with Detective Murphy on those cases considered bizarre.

I was at first a little put off because it differs from the stories told in the books, but after I come over that I started to really like it. The essence of the show is the same as the books, and you get a similar feeling. It is worth watching even if you have not read the books.

Lost-Girl-TV.jpg

Bo is a sexy succubus, and to feed she sucks the life force out of people. For years she did not know what she was and had no control of her feeding. She fled one corpse after another until she accidentally crossed paths with Kenzi, a drifter and a thief. Bo rescued Kenzi from a date rape scum bag by killing him, which this time finally made the fae catch up with her. The fae are split in two sides, light and dark. Each Fae must choose one of the sides, and stick to it. Bo, who until now has lived outside the fae community, vows to live on her own terms even if it means existing alone between the dark and the light. She manages this with the help of her mischievous, but loya friendl, Kenzi, the handsome shapeshifter Dyson, and the beautiful human scientist Lauren. While Bo tries to unravel the riddle of her mysterious past she and her friends also tackle other problems that arise.

This is a really cool series, if you are in to this kind of stuff. Absolute worth watching.

Blood-Ties-TV.jpg

Vicki Nelson is a Private Investigator that teams up with Henry Fitzroy, a vampire. Together they investigating odd paranormal crimes around Toronto. In between all the crime solving a love triangle drama is slowly growing between her former partner and ex-lover Detective Mike and her new vampire partner.

Both have vampires and other supernatural beings, and both protagonists are P.Is solving supernatural cases. Vicki might be a regular human, and a woman, but they are still quite similar.

Warehouse-13-TV.jpg

Agent Pete Lattimer and Agent Myka Bering find themselves transferred to Warehouse 13, a massive, top-secret storage facility in South Dakota. This mysterious warehouse houses every supernatural artifact ever collected by the government. Their new job has them chaseing down reports of supernatural activity in search of new artifacts to be safeguarded in the Warehouse

Warehouse 13 is an entertaining entertaining adventure full of fictional and historical objects and gadgets with and without (mostly with) supernatural powers. I really like this TV show.

Eureka-TV.jpg

Eureka is a small hidden town populated by America’s brightest scientists. They work cutting edge inventions and discoveries. Sadly for them, but funny for us, in their enthusiasm they tend to be forgetful about the safety surrounding their projects, which usually leads unnatural and hilarious chaos!

Sheriff Jack Carter and his daughter accidentally stumbles upon Eureka, and Jack ends up being hired as the new sheriff in town. He got more than he bargained for when he has to deal with all the quirky geniuses living in Eureka and their crazy experiments.

This is an absolutely hilarious show. Every episode have some new crazy accident to be taken care of. I was so sad when it was cancelled.

Hmm.. I cant remember why I thought they belong together. I had some reason in mind when I linked them together, but i cant for the life of me remember why. I`l leave it in place, and see of anyone else agrees or disagrees with me on this one.

Do you agree? Anything else you think should be on this list?