If you like “The Divine Dungeon” by Dakota Krout, then you might enjoy…

Dungeon-Born-The-Divine-Dungeon-1.jpg
Cal is a Dungeon Hearth, a soul forced into a magical stone against his will. After several years of only instinctive living he was able to regain his sentience which allowed him to form new memories again and slowly start growing a dungeon around himself. With help from a small friend Cal learned to create monsters and traps and how to use treasure to lure in brave adventures to eat so he can grow in power and size.

Books,

Ancient-Ruins-Ancient-Dreams-1.jpg

Sistina was bound into a jewel and after being buried for millennia with the unknowing owner of her jewel she is finally awakened but bound to her cave. She finds some fleeing elven slaves hiding out in her caves, and by helping them out she is suddenly finds herself drawn into a war between two elven nations and the slaver kingdom of Kelvanis. While helping out Sistina becomes a dungeon and stronghold to protect those she loves.

Ancient Ruins is a good book, not to grate, but good. The main character might be a dungeon, but there are no game mechanics in this book, which is a con or pro depending or your likes. Fare warning, this book is full of dark and sexual themes.

This book is also about a dungeon, but the dungeon part is not a main part of the book. It also not as funny, and it is much more dark and sexual.

NPCs.jpg

Ever wondered how the life of a NPC is? What they do when the shops are closed, quests are given and the adventurous have gone to their next encounter? In the town of Mapleback four NPCs ready themself to settle in for a night away from the adventurers when some thing goes terribly wrong. They find themselves with the choice of pretending to be adventurers and undertaking a dangerous task or se their town and their loved ones destroyed.

NPCs is a fun lighthearted book. If you do not know what NPC stands for then this book is probably not for you, but if you do then it probably is.

The-Slime-Dungeon-The-Slime-Dungeon-Chronicles-1.jpg

The dungeon is an entity, hinted to be human, dies and is reborn as a Dungeon Heart with only the vaguest recollection of being alive once before. With the guidance of a Pixie he works to build a dungeon around himself with corridors and rooms full of monsters and loot. If this is managed correctly then the dungeon will have a symbiotic, though dangerous, relationship with local adventurers. Adventurers gets loot while the presenting the dungeon with a chance to increase in power and size.

Not as good as other dungeon themed books, but still worth a chance. It is also kind of short.

Both books center around dungeons trying to grow more powerful with he help of a pixie.

The-Land-Founding-Chaos-Seeds-1.jpg

James and his friends was among the top teams on the newest and greatest VRMMORPG game The Land. When they are riding a new dungeon he is separated from his friends and after answering the same thee times to a what he things is a game boss he is suddenly transferred to the real planet that the game was based on. He still has access to his character sheets and delves into this real game with his new name Richter. Richter quickly find himself dragged into an age-old war between forest sprites and goblins while also ending up in control of his own village that he has to grow.

The Chaos Seeds books are so far among the best LitRPG books I have read, atlas among the LitRPG book that goes all in with he game mechanic. Richter’s story is captivating, funny, and a little addictive. I feel like I am playing the adventure I am reading and it’s always interesting when Richter levels up or finds new loot.

They are both in the LitRPG genre and the way Richter builds up his own character and his village feels somewhat similar to how Cal does it, only with much more stats and details.

We-Are-Legion-We-Are-Bob-Bobiverse-1.jpg

Bob Johansson has just sold his software company and is looking forward to a life of leisure as a rich man. Sadly Bob dies in an accident right after this, but luckily for him; he has payed for a service to freeze his brain until we have the technology to put it into a new body.
However, when he wakes up a century later he discovers that dead people has been declared to be without right, and he now finds himself as the property of the state. As if that wasn’t enough, he has been uploaded into a computer and ordered to be to be the controlling AI of an interstellar von Neumann probe that is tasked with searching for habitable planets to be colonized. If he declines, he’ll be switched off. If he accepts, he becomes the main target of competing states with similar projects.

The Bobiverse series is the best sci-fi books I have read in a long while. Cant wait for the next in the series. Its full of references to interesting science and popular culture. Good story with good humor. Its also very interesting and funny how the different bobs interact with each other. Great books.

The bobiverse books might not be in a fantasy setting or about a dungeon, but there ais something similar there. They are both funny, they build out their domain and power, and they both was once human beings but now are something else.

Clean-Sweep-Innkeeper-Chronicles-1.jpg

Dina Demille is by all appearances a fine young woman who runs a quiescent Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town and owns a small Shih Tzu named Beast. By all counts, she should be a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem is what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Diana’s is not a regular bed and breakfast, it’s an inn for otherworldly travelers who need a place to stay while traveling. And the inn is not a regular house, its a living thinking magical construct that require inhabitants to survive, and it can be shaped to whatever form Diana or her guest needs. But even so her inn is not a regular inn, it’s on the verge of starvation and since inn’s are neutral zone Diana have let a retired aristocrat responsible for millions of deaths permanently hide out in her inn.

Innkeeper Chronicles love the Innkeeper Chronicles. It has good character focus and interesting world building.

The inn in the Innkeeper Chronicles is kind of a dungeon. But it is not as focused on building out the power of the inn, it more centered around Diana and her friends.

Death-Becomes-Her-The-Kurtherian-Gambit-1.jpg

Bethany Anne is fucking good special investigator in the army. However, there is one sad part, she is dying. She has a rare blood disease with no known cure. But she is not letting that stop her, she is going strong all the way to the end. But unbeknownst to her, she is put up for a possible secretive “promotion” because an old deal the government made with the Patriarch of the unknown world. But this time is different, he is not only looking to make new vampires, he is looking for a possible candidate to take over for him.

The Kurtherian Gambit is fast paced action with a strong female character. I like this series, but Bethany Anne can be a little to invulnerable. The swearing can be a little over the top at times, the books are to short already, why waste half of them on swear words.

Both are fast paced, funny and centers around building up their power. The Kurtherian Gambit centers around building up a global hidden empire while The Divine Dungeon centers around dungeon building.

Nightlord-Sunset-Nightlord-1.jpg

Eric had a peaceful life as a physic teacher, but then he ended up as a vampire with hunters from another dimension hunting him. He ends up in that other medieval dimension himself and struggles with growing as a vampire and fitting in to this new world. Luckily he is not alone, he has his trusty steed that he created with magic and a flaming sword that is inhabited by a dragon soul.

The Nightlord books are a highly recommended series. I love the way he thinks and explain his decisions and magical constructs.

Nightlord also describes in detail about how Hollar (Eric) grows his personal power and his domain. But it dos not have any LitRPG leveling.

Animes,

Sword-Art-Online-2012.jpg

Sword Art Online (SAO), a massive online role-playing game, is launched. It uses “NerveGear” technology, a technology that lets players control their avatars within the game using nothing but their own thoughts. Kazuto Kirigaya is one player among ten-thousand others that logs on to SAO as it launches. The players soon realize they cannot log out. The game’s creator has trapped them in his new world until they complete all one hundred levels of the game.

The animation and sound work is good, but the rest, the important parts, is mediocre. It`s still absolutely worth watching, but only if you like this kind of animes.

Log-Horizon-2013.jpg

MMORPG gamers find themself transported into the game they play. Shiroe and the others in Log Horizon attempt to live their lives out in the new world they find themselves trapped in. Form governemts, deal with NPCs and other players.

Log Horizon is a very good anime. It`s about more than simple fighting.

No-Game-No-Life-2014.jpg

Two siblings with social problems and a gigantic gaming addiction are selected and sent into an alternate universe. This universe is about gaming. All conflict and problems are solved by games. No murder or violence are possible. They set out to get enough power and influence by winning game so they can play against the god of this universe, the god of gaming.

The premiss of this anime sounds a little silly, but the anime turns out to be really good. If you like anime and gaming, then this is a must watch.

Overlord.jpg

Momonga is a powerful wizard and master of the dark guild Ainz Ooal Gown int the popular virtual reality game Yggdrasil. The final hour before the game shuts down for god has come and he decides to stay logged in during this event. To his surprise, despite the clock having struck midnight, and all the servers should have been shut down, Momonga is still fully conscious inside his game character. Whats even more strange is that all the NPCs appear to suddenly have developed personalities of their own. Surprised by this strange occurrence, Momonga decides to investigate and take control of this new world to figure out the cause and to see if there are others like him.

I recommend this anime, but only if you like this genre. Its one of the better “trapped in rpg game world” animes.