If you like “The Belgariad” by David Eddings, then you might enjoy…

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

If you like Pawn of Prophecy (The Belgariad #1) then you will most likely like some or all the following recommended Books. I find them to have some degree of similarity with Pawn of Prophecy.

Garion is a young boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Book

Magician-Apprentice-The-Riftwar-Saga-1-by-Raymond-Feist.jpg

Pug is despite his name a human orphan and not a dog. He was chosen to study under the master magician Kulgan. They will soon discover that dark beings from another world have opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos. Pug ends up in the centre of this strife. Will he be strong enough to save his world?

The Riftwar Saga is a great series. Magician: Apprentice starts out like most coming of age fantasy books, but it is written exceptionally good. Absolute worth reading.

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, it’s an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon, and the rest of the The Inheritance Cycle, is ok books, but not more than that. They are worth reading, but only if you do not have anything better at hand.

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

A hobbit gets a ring and the wizard discover its evil power. They have to destroy it, but only one place can do that. A small fellowship is formed to get to he place it has to be destroyed. Orcs and other evils try to stop them… You know the story, no need for me to tell more of it.

The Lord of the Rings is a classic fantasy book and a must read for any fan of the genre.

Dragonriders-of-Pern-Dragonriders-of-Pern-1-by-Anne-McCaffrey.jpg

Humans and their flying dragon companions live in fear of thread, a caustic, deadly material that falls sporadically from space. But when the thread doesn’t fall for a long time, people become complacent, forgetting that it is the brave dragonriders who can save them from the periodic threat. But when the thread falls, human and dragon heroes must fight the scourge. – Amazon

Great books. It’s a while since I read them, but they are great.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The main similarity between The Belgariad and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the Sliver of Infinity, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Rulers most hellish prison snapped and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworlds elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kels plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

The-Lion-the-Witch-and-the-Wardrobe-Chronicles-of-Narnia-1-by-C.-S.-Lewis.jpg

Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie are four sibling that step through a wardrobe door and into the fantastical land of Narnia. A land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. A land of talking animals and half animal half human creatures. A land of fantasy.

I remember reading this as a child. It was captivating. So many good memories.

Dragons-of-Autumn-Twilight-Dragonlance-Chronicles-1-by-Margaret-Weis.jpg

A group of friends, consisting of Tanis, Sturm, Caramon, Raistlin, Flint, and Tasslehoff, come together after five years of pursuing their own quests. Tanis is a half-elf and de facto leader of the companions. Sturm Brightblade is a squire to the Knights of Solamnia and a deeply honorable man. Caramon Majere is a huge, muscular, sometimes slow-thinking warrior, with a deep affection for his brother, Raistlin. Raistlin Majere is a powerful, sarcastic, cynical, frail mage of the Red Robes. Flint Fireforge, a gruff old dwarf and old friend of Tanis.Tasslehoff Burrfoot, a happy-go-lucky, not-so-innocent, and genial kender.

The companions discover that the village they are meting in has been taken over by a religious order called the Seekers. And the Seekers are collaborating with the Dragon Highlords, who are preparing for the conquest of their continent. The companions soon find them self chased by these evil forces and enemies of the realm.

I had some reservations before starting on these books. I thought Dragonlance was some low quality role-playing fantasy shit, but I was wrong. Dragonlance Chronicles are great books. They are absolute worth reading.

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians want her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden suers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

Her you go, 11 recommendations from me to you. Do you have any to give in return?