If you like “Sword of Truth” by Terry Goodkind, then you might enjoy…

Wizards-First-Rule-Sword-of-Truth-1-by-Terry-Goodkind.jpg

Sword of Truth is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books, TV-shows and Animes.

Richard Cypher, a young man in the Westland, helps out Kahlan Amnell, a young woman from the Midlands in trouble. She has managed to cross the boundary between the lands to see Zedd, of all people. She brings with her dark news from the other side of the Boundary. Darken Rahl, Ruler of D’Hara, has brought down the Boundary between D’Hara and the Midlands. Kahlan Amnell seeks a great wizard who had left the Midlands for the Magic free Westlands to have him Name a Seeker of Truth. That way they can find a way to defend them self against Darken Rahl.

Book

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

Sword of Truth and Codex Alera are both two really long book series and they are both also really good. Both series follows a young boy that unknown to them have royal/noble blood and they grows up to be an important person.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Both are long stories following a few people. Magic, evil enemies, magical swords and so on. Sword of Truth and Wheel og time both have a very similar feel to them.

Assassins-Apprentice-Farseer-trilogy-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stable boy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitzs blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

Both Sword of Truth and the Kingkiller Chronicle books follows the classical fantasy theme about a nobody young boy growing up with great gifts. Both boys will become gifted “magicians”.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the Sliver of Infinity, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Rulers most hellish prison snapped and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworlds elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kels plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nighmares!

I remember I was spell-bound by this trilogy. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was one of the earlier fantasy series i read, and it was really good. All fantasy fans should read this trilogy.

Classic fantasy coming of age. Many hours of good old-time classical fun.

Magician-Apprentice-The-Riftwar-Saga-1-by-Raymond-Feist.jpg

Pug is despite his name a human orphan and not a dog. He was chosen to study under the master magician Kulgan. They will soon discover that dark beings from another world have opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos. Pug ends up in the centre of this strife. Will he be strong enough to save his world?

The Riftwar Saga is a great series. Magician: Apprentice starts out like most coming of age fantasy books, but it is written exceptionally good. Absolute worth reading.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1-by-Ursula-K.-Le-Guin.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I don’t think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians want her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden suers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

TV

Game-of-Thrones-TV.jpg

Noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. They are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. This is a grand story of duplicity and treachery, nobility and honor, conquest and triumph. When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die. While the noble families play their deadly game a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Only a neglected military order of sinners and outcasts, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and this ancient evil.

It`s almost perfect. My precious…

Merlin-TV.jpg

The BBC show Merlin is about Merlin and Arthur when they were younger. Merlin has just come in to his powers and Arthur is still a prince. Merlin is trying to keep Arthur alive and to make sure he will become the man he is prophesied to become, the King that will bring peace and balance back in the realm. Merlin`s task is made harder with the banning of magic. King Other has made magic illegal and all magicians that still use magic will be executed.

Merlin is a truly excellent show. It`s a must watch, especially if you like the Arthurian saga or are into medieval life and wizardry.

Anime

Tales-from-Earthsea-Anime-2006.jpg

The world of Earthsea is a world full of magic and wonder, wizards and dragons. In this world we meet Ged, a wandering wizard, who is investigating why dragons are entering the world of humans. He meets Prince Arren who is manipulated by the witch named Kumo. And so the fun begins.

Tales from Earthsea are based on the books written by Ursula K. Le Guin, it has been changed significantly from the books. It is still worth to see, as long as you do not expect to get a real visualization of the stories from the books.

What do you think, are they similar to Wizard’s First Rule? Anything else you think should be on this list?