If you like “Memory, Sorrow and Thorn” by Tad Williams, then you might enjoy…

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

Memory, Sorrow and Thorn is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books, TV-shows, Movies and Animes.

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nightmares!

Book

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Assassins-Apprentice-Farseer-trilogy-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stable boy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitzs blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Magician-Apprentice-The-Riftwar-Saga-1-by-Raymond-Feist.jpg

Pug is despite his name a human orphan and not a dog. He was chosen to study under the master magician Kulgan. They will soon discover that dark beings from another world have opened a rift in the fabric of spacetime to begin again the age-old battle between the forces of Order and Chaos. Pug ends up in the centre of this strife. Will he be strong enough to save his world?

The Riftwar Saga is a great series. Magician: Apprentice starts out like most coming of age fantasy books, but it is written exceptionally good. Absolute worth reading.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The main similarity between Memory, Sorrow and Thorn and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part. They are both also some terrific good books.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

A hobbit gets a ring and the wizard discover its evil power. They have to destroy it, but only one place can do that. A small fellowship is formed to get to he place it has to be destroyed. Orcs and other evils try to stop them… You know the story, no need for me to tell more of it.

The Lord of the Rings is a classic fantasy book and a must read for any fan of the genre.

Wizards-First-Rule-Sword-of-Truth-1-by-Terry-Goodkind.jpg

Richard Cypher, a young man in the Westland, helps out Kahlan Amnell, a young woman from the Midlands in trouble. She has managed to cross the boundary between the lands to see Zedd, of all people. She brings with her dark news from the other side of the Boundary. Darken Rahl, Ruler of D’Hara, has brought down the Boundary between D’Hara and the Midlands. Kahlan Amnell seeks a great wizard who had left the Midlands for the Magic free Westlands to have him Name a Seeker of Truth. That way they can find a way to defend them self against Darken Rahl.

I remember that I really liked The Sword of Truth. I guess i still do. I have read that some people complain about bad writing, that might be true, but I am very seldom affected by bad writing. I am more interesting in story and characters, and that it has. This book series is absolutely worth a try… if you have time for 11 books with about 700 pages each.

Classic fantasy coming of age. Many hours of good old time classical fun.

Prince-of-Thorns-Broken-Empire-1-by-Mark-Lawrence.jpg

When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. At thirteen, he led a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king

Prince of Thorns is a great book, and Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath is a great anti-hero. This is a must read, as long as you are OK with anti heroes as protagonists.

TV

Avatar-The-Last-Airbender-TV.jpg

Aang is a twelve-year-old boy and the current reincarnation of the avatar. The avatar is the only person who can bend all for elements at the same time, fire, earth, water and air. The avatar is meant to keep balance in the world. Balance between the humans and between the humans and the spirits. Aang was born an air temple among the air nomads, but he runaway and the avatar was lost for decades. Aang has now return, not a day older, but the world he lived in has changed drastically. He is now the last air bender, the other has been wiped out, and the world has become unbalanced. Can he bring balance back to the world.

Avatar: The Last Airbender is a really good tv show. And it actually comes from Nicelodeon of all places. Avatar is not only for children, even adults might find this tv show interesting.

Game-of-Thrones-TV.jpg

Noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. They are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. This is a grand story of duplicity and treachery, nobility and honor, conquest and triumph. When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die. While the noble families play their deadly game a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Only a neglected military order of sinners and outcasts, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and this ancient evil.

It`s almost perfect. My precious…

Legend-Of-The-Seeker-TV.jpg

The Legend Of The Seeker follows the adventures of Richard Cypher the new “Seeker of Truth”, Kahlan Amnell the last Mother Confessor, Zeddicus Zu’l Zorander a wizard of the first order, Cara a warrior (Mord-Sith) as they fight for the people of their realm against tyrants and destroyers. The TV show differ substantially the books (Sword of Truth).

I have only seen season one, I was a little irritated that it differ so much from the book series. However, I do plan to give it another chance.

Movie

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-Movie-2001.jpg

In The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring we are introduces to Frodo as he receives the ring from Bilbo. He starts on his journey to Mordor to destroy the ring in the fires of Mount Doom. On his way there we are in this first part gradually introduced to his companions that will join him in a fellowship to destroy the ring. This journey will be full of perils, from small skirmishes, to large battles and to internal battles of the mind.

I remember I could barely wait for the next movie in this series when I first watched it. This is the first movie in a really good movie trilogy. It also keeps fairly close to the story told in the books. A must watch for everyone.

The-Chronicles-of-Narnia-The-Lion-the-Witch-and-the-Wardrobe-Movie-2005.jpg

Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie are four sibling that step through a wardrobe door and into the fantastical land of Narnia. A land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. A land of talking animals and half animal half human creatures. A land of fantasy.

A great movie. I`m not sure if it is as good as the old TV series, but that is probably just Nostalgia talking.

Anime

Tales-from-Earthsea-Anime-2006.jpg

The world of Earthsea is a World full of magic and wonder, wizards and dragons. In this world we meet Ged, a wandering wizard, who is investigating why dragons are entering the world of humans. He meets Prince Arren who is manipulated by the witch named Kumo. And so the fun begins.

Tales from Earthsea are based on the books written by Ursula K. Le Guin, it has been changed significantly from the books. It is still worth to see, as long as you do not expect to get a real visualization of the stories from the books.

The-Twelve-Kingdoms-Anime.jpg

Nakajima Youko is your average high school girl, but one day, a man named Keiki come to her. He is swearing his allegiance to her and before she could understand what happens a demon-like creatures attack Youko. As this is happening Youko and her friends are pulled into a different world, a world unlike anything they have ever seen. And so begins an epic adventure.

The Twelve Kingdoms are a really great anime. It`s a must watch for any anime fan and other people might also like it.

What do you recommend that are similar to The Dragonbone Chair, and why?