If you like “Log Horizon”, then you might enjoy…

Log-Horizon-Anime-2013.jpg

Log Horizon is a splendid form of entertainment. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Animes, TV-shows and Books.

MMORPG gamers find themself transported into the game they play. Shiroe and the others in Log Horizon attempt to live their lives out in the new world they find themselves trapped in. Form governemts, deal with NPCs and other players.

Anime

Death-Note-Anime-2006.jpg

Yagami Light is a 17-year-old genius from Japan. One day he stumbles upon a notebook with the words “Death Note” written on the front. unbeknownst to Light, this book used to belong to Shinigami (death Good) called Ryuk. The first sentence in this book states that anyone whose name is written inside will die. Light falls for his all to human curiosity a try the book. Discovering that this is actually true, Light decide to use this power to change the world in his image and become God of the New World. Light soon meats resistance from another genius known as L. He is working against Light’s beliefs and Light himself.

This is a really good anime. This might be a good starting point if you never have watched animes before. If you have experience with animes then you probably already have watched this show.

Sword-Art-Online-Anime-2012.jpg

Sword Art Online (SAO), a massive online role-playing game, is launched. It uses “NerveGear” technology, a technology that lets players control their avatars within the game using nothing but their own thoughts. Kazuto Kirigaya is one player among ten-thousand others that logs on to SAO as it launches. The players soon realize they cannot log out. The games creator has trapped them in his new world until they complete all one hundred levels of the game.

The animation and sound work is good, but the rest, the important parts, is mediocre. It`s still absolutely worth watching, but only if you like this kind of animes.

No-Game-No-Life-Anime-2014.jpg

Two siblings with social problems and a gigantic gaming addiction are selected and sent into an alternate universe. This universe is about gaming. All conflict and problems are solved by games. No murder or violence are possible. They set out to get enough power and influence by winning game so they can play against the god of this universe, the god of gaming.

The premiss of this anime sounds a little silly, but the anime turns out to be really good. If you like anime and gaming, then this is a must watch.

hackSign-Anime-2002.jpg

Tsukasa, a young wavemaster, wakes up in the MMORPG called The World with amnesia. He dos not remember what he did before waking up in the game and being unable to log out from the game, he wanders around looking for answers.

.hack//Sign is an ok anime. I remember loving it the first time, but it was not as good the second time.

Ragnarok-The-Animation-Anime-2004.jpg

Set in the popular Korean MMORPG Ragnarok; the young swordsman Roan and his life-long companion, the acolyte Yufa, must face an ever-growing evil that is sweeping over the realm.

Ragnarok: The Animation is an OK-ish anime. If you are a fan of the game or like this kind of animes then go for it. But be warned, it`s not so similar to the game as most wish.

Scrapped-Princess-Anime-2003.jpg

Pacifica Cassul is a girl with a bad destiny. She is the Scrapped Princess, a girl who, according to prophecy, is the poison that will destroy the world. This means that people want her dead. But her siblings have sworn to protect her. Her brother Shannon who is a master with the sword, and her sister Raquel who is dangerous magician.

Scrapped Princess is an anime in the fantasy genre. I have watched it twice, and loved it both times. Absolutely worth a watch.

Code-Geass-Anime.jpg

Lelouch Lamperouge is an abandoned prince of the Holy Britannian Empire. He hides his true identity as a student in the colonized territory of Area 11, formerly known as Japan. After he acquires the power of “Geass” from the mysterious girl named C.C., which enables him to command anyone to obey his order, he wears the mask of Zero and begins his rebellion against his own father’s empire, so that he can take revenge for his assassinated mother. – Amazon

Code Geass is an excellent anime. It is one of the better animes I have ever watched.

Code Geass is a sci-fi show, but the main character is devilishly clever, just like the main person in Log Horizon.

TV

Sherlock-TV.jpg

Sherlock is a new contemporary take on the classic Arthur Conan Doyle stories. Many of the details and stories from the original books are kept, only modernized to fit in today’s society and technology. Now his most important tool, after his brilliant mind, is a modern smart phone. Doctor Watson is a fairly young medical veteran of the Afghan war. Together they navigate a web of cryptic clues and myriad of lethal killers to get at the truth

This is the best adoption of the Sherlock Holmes books I have ever watched. It`s truly exiting to watch Sherlock’s fast and leaping but accurate deductions. This is a show everyone should try out.

Both Log Horizon and Sherlock have some very intelligent and clever main characters.

Book

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

Both main characters in Codex Alera and Log Horizon are highly intelligent people.

Enders-Game-The-Ender-Quintet-1-by-Orson-Scott-Card-.jpg

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

Do not judge a book by its authors personal views. This is an excellent book, and you should not forego it because of Orson Scott Card stupid personal views.

Ender`s Game is not a fantasy book, but Ender is a highly intelligent character.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

Tyrion Lanister, one of the main character, is a highly intelligent and cunning character.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

Both shows main characters are very intelligent. They solve many of their problems by raw brain power.

What do you recommend that are similar to Log Horizon, and why?