If you like “Kingkiller Chronicle” by Patrick Rothfuss, then you might enjoy…

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

Kingkiller Chronicle is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you wil love some of the following Books, TV-shows, Movies and Animes.

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

Book

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soiless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promesing medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

This book is highly recommended. It starts of a very promising series. If you like fantasy books, then this is a must read.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity”, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

The Way of Shadows is the first book in the Night Angel Trilogy, an an excellent book it is. The hours just fly by as we live the life of Kylar Stern.

The Night Angel Trilogy and the Kingkiller Chronicle both have that classical fantasy coming of age part. And they both operate in shades of grey, no pure black and white morals here.

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians wants her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden suers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

Both The Black Magician Trilogy and the Kingkiller Chronicle has the typical fantasy coming of age part. Only The Black Magician is about a girl with special talents instead of a boy. Both characters are or will become great magicians. Both books are also set around a magical school where the main character go to learn magic.

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nighmares!

I remember I was spell bound by this trilogy. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was one of the earlier fantasy series i read, and it was really good. All fantasy fans should read this trilogy.

The main similarity between Memory, Sorrow and Thorn and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part. They are both also some terrific good books.

Assassins-Apprentice-Realm-of-the-Elderlings-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stableboy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

The main similarity between The Farseer and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part. They are both also some terrific good books with a similar feel about them.

The-Lies-of-Locke-Lamora-The-Gentleman-Bastard-1-by-Scott-Lynch.jpg

Locke Lamora, born in the island city of Camorr with a quick wit and a gift for thieving, has dodged both death and slavery, only to fall into the hands of an eyeless priest known as Chains. A man who is neither blind nor a priest, but a con artist of extraordinary talent. Chains passes his skills on to his carefully selected gang of orphans, a group known as the Gentlemen Bastards. Under Chains guiding hand, Locke grows to lead the Gentlemen Bastards, delightedly pulling off one outrageous confidence game after another. A shadowy and ambitious figur, known as the Gray King is using Locke Lamora as a pawn in his play to take control of Camorr’s underworld. With a bloody coup under way threatening to destroy everyone and everything that he cares for, Locke vows to beat the Gray King at his own game, or die trying.

I have only read the first book in this series, but I plan to read the rest later.

The-Blade-Itself-The-First-Law-1-by-Joe-Abercrombie.jpg

Murderous conspiracies, old scores ready to be settled, unpredictable, compelling, wickedly funny, and packed with unforgettable characters, We follow the characters the infamous barbarian Logen Ninefingers, Captain Jezal dan Luthar, Inquisitor Glokta and he wizard Bayaz. Jezal is a nobleman, dashing officer, and paragon of selfishness. He has nothing more dangerous in mind than fleecing his friends at cards and dreaming of glory in the fencing circle. Glokta, a cripple turned torturer, loves cutting treason out of the Union one confession at a time. Bayaz, an old man with a terrible temper, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he’s about to make the lives of Logen, Jezal, and Glotka a whole lot more difficult.

The Blade Itself is the first book in the The Blade Itself. This book, especially Glokta with his biting and interesting internal monologues, is among the better fantasy books. You will have a blast reading this.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

The main similarity between The Belgariad and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part. They are also both really good book series with some similar feel to them.

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

Garion is a young boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Pawn of Prophecy, the first book in The Belgariad, is a splendid book. It is very old fashion classic fantasy with a boy growing up with special powers, a travelling quest, black and white morals and fighting the evil overlord. But it is written very well and it is absolutely worth reading. It might be a classic in the fantasy genre.

The main similarity between The Belgariad and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part.

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Harry Potter is the magical school aspect. Harry Potter is mainly aimed at a younger audience, but it is fun for adults to.

Blood-Song-Ravens-Shadow-1-by-Anthony-Ryan.jpg

Vaelin Al Sorna was only a ten year old child when his father left him at the gate of the Sixth Order. Sixth of in all seven orders, the Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. The other orders of the faith has each its own special field of responsibility. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to have a chance of survive the dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order, his brothers in arms. Vaelin Al Sorna is destined for a future he has yet to comprehend. A future that will alter not only the Realm, but the world.

Blood Song is the first book in the Raven’s Shadow series. I know many people love this book, I liked to, but I fell out for a while. There was something that made me loose attention at the end of the first book and the beginning of the second. However, I liked it enough to keep reading the books when they come.

Raven’s Shadow and Kingkiller Chronicle starts out with young boys starting in special schools and we follow them growing up to become well known people in their field. Raven’s Shadow might not be about a magical school, its a warrior of the faith school. But the main person do have a kind of magical ability.

Wizards-First-Rule-Sword-of-Truth-1-by-Terry-Goodkind.jpg

Richard Cypher, a young man in the Westland, helps out Kahlan Amnell, a young woman from the Midlands in trouble. She has managed to cross the boundary between the lands to see Zedd, of all people. She brings with her dark news from the other side of the Boundary. Darken Rahl, Ruler of D’Hara, has brought down the Boundary between D’Hara and the Midlands. Kahlan Amnell seeks a great wizard who had left the Midlands for the Magic free Westlands to have him Name a Seeker of Truth. That way they can find a way to defend them self against Darken Rahl.

I remember that I really liked The Sword of Truth. I guess i still do. I have read that some people complain about bad writing, that might be true, but I am very seldom affected by bad writing. I am more interesting in story and characters, and that it has. This book series is absolutely worth a try… if you have time form 11 books with about 700 pages each.

Both Sword of Truth and the Kingkiller Chronicle books follows the classical fantasy theme about a nobody young boy growing up with grate gifts. Both boys will become gifted “magicians”.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

Both books follows the classical fantasy theme about a nobody young boy growing up with grate gifts. They are both gifted “magicians”. In “The Painted Man” the magic system contains written/carved wards while in “The Name of the Wind” the magic system is build up of multiple more standard parts.

TV

Merlin-TV.jpg

The BBC show Merlin is about Merlin and Arthur when they where younger. Merlin has just come in to his powers and Arthur is still a prince. Merlin is trying to keep Arthur alive and to make sure he will become the man he is prophesied to become, the King that will bring peace and balance back in the realm. Merlin`s task is made harder with the banning of magic. King Other has made magic illegal and all magicians that still use magic will be executed.

Merlin is a truly excellent show. It`s a must watch, especially if you like the Arthurian saga or are into medieval life and wizardry.

Game-of-Thrones-TV.jpg

Noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. They are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. This is a grand story of duplicity and treachery, nobility and honor, conquest and triumph. When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die. While the noble families play their deadly game a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Only a neglected military order of sinners and outcasts, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and this ancient evil.

Spartacus-TV.jpg

Spartacus a Thracian warrior, is together with his tribe enlisted by the Romans to fight. After bad treatment from the Romans he gets his destiny sealed by an act of rebellious violence. As punishment he faces death by being forced to fight in the gladiatorial arena. Watch the story of his rise to become history’s greatest gladiator unfold with graphic violence and explicit sex. The inspiration behind this series is the historical Thracian Gladiator Spartacus, who led a slave uprising against the Roman Republic.

This is a extremely good series, as long as you are not among the faint of hart.

Spartacus is not about magic but it has a school for gladiators and it is set in medieval times.

Movie

Harry-Potter-and-the-Philosophers-Stone-Movie-2001.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This first movie is not that good. I like the movies best from three and up. Number one and two are a little childish. The best thing about this first movie is to watch Harry`s first experience with the wizard world.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Harry Potter is the magical school aspect. Harry Potter is mainly aimed at a younger audience, but it is fun for adults to.

Anime

Zero-no-Tsukaima-Anime.jpg

Hiraga Saito is an average Japanese boy until the day he is suddenly finds himself in an alternate universe. Louise Françoise, magician at the Tristein Academy, accidently summon him when she is trying to summon a familiar. A familiar is a servant and partner to support their master as they do magic. Hiraga and Louise cant stand each other but they have no other choice than to cooperate together. Louise can`t attempt another summoning and Hiraga cant return tho his world. Louise is nicknamed Zero Louise by the other students because she is not able to use her magic correctly. More problems starts when Hiraga refuse to accept the social inequities that Louise and other aristocrats consider the status quo, and Louise discovers that her magic is more unique than anybody else’s magic.

Zero no Tsukaima is a quit good anime. Far from the best, but still more than watchable. Adults who has never watched animes should probably pick another one if they want to try out an anime to watch. But anyone else should give it a try.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Zero no Tsukaima is the magical school part.

Soul-Eater-Anime-2008.jpg

Maka and Soul students at the Grim Reaper’s Death Weapon Meister Academy. Maka is a Meister and Soul is her Weapon. He can turn him self into a Scythe than Maka uses to fight evil beings and collect their souls.

Soul Eater is a really good anime. The visual style might be a little quirky to begin with, but you quickly get used to it. If you like Shonen then you should absolutely watch it, but it is still worth a try even if you are not a big fan of Shonen.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Soul Eater is the supernatural school part.

Toaru-Majutsu-no-Index-Anime.jpg

Set in a city of scientifically advanced superhuman students, but in a world where magic is also real. Touma Kamijou’s right hand, the Imagine Breaker, will negate all magic, psychic, or divine powers, but not his own bad luck. One day he finds a young girl hanging on his balcony railing. She turns out to be a nun from the Church of England, and her mind has been implanted with the Index-Librorum-Prohibitorum—all the magical texts the Church has removed from circulation. – Amazon

Toaru Majutsu no Index is slightly above average anime, but it is far from the best. If you like animes and it sound interesting, then you should absolutly give it a try, but it`s not an anime for an anime n==b to start out with.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Toaru Majutsu no Index is the supernatural school part.

Ao-no-Exorcist-Anime-2011.jpg

Daemons from the realm of Gehenna is intruding into the human realm of Assiah. Among the human race, there are Exorcists who can exorcise demons that are crossing the realms. Rin Okumura and his twin brother Yukio have been raised by the priest Shiro Fujimoto and it comes as a shock on Rin when he discovers that their biological father is actually Satan him self. Rin vows to become the ultimate exorcist and defeat his own father. To do this he enters True Cross Academy to train with other exorcist candidates so hi can be powerful enough to have a hope of completing his goal.

I did like Ao no Exorcist, it was very good. I might be watching it again soon.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Ao no Exorcist is the supernatural school part.

Do you agree? Anything else you think should be on this list?

  • Blood Song was the only book not on my to read list. I’ve only read Harry Potter and Wizard’s First Rule, which is really long, but worth it. I’ve only read the first one in the new ‘series’, but my sister said that the next ones aren’t very good, so I don’t think I’ll continue. I loved the tv show Merlin! I’m so sad that it ended. I’ve seen all of those anime! Blue Exorcist rocks! I didn’t like the end where they deviated from the manga as much though. Nice list! 🙂

    • I have not read the Richard and Kahlan series. It have some bad reviews. I might add it far back in my to read list, just because I want to return to that world. I have not read the Blue Exorcist manga, but i did love the anime.