If you like “Jane Yellowrock” by Faith Hunter, then you might enjoy…

Skinwalker-Jane-Yellowrock-1-by-Faith-Hunter.jpg

Jane Yellowrock is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books and TV-shows.

Jane Yellowrock is a skinwalker that shares her body with the soul of a mountain lion. She can take any form as long as the has some bones with DNA from them. Jane works as a freelance rogue-vampire hunter. In this first book she is hired to take care of a nasty rogue-vampire in New Orleans. When she is there she comes in contact with the vampire society and learns the about the “sane” vampires. She also learns more about her own Cherokee heritage,

Book

Moon-Called-Mercy-Thompson-1-by-Patricia-Briggs.jpg

Mercy “Mercy” Thompson’s life is not exactly normal. Her next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she’s fixing a VW bus for a vampire. Mercy’s strange connection to these strange creatures of shadow and night is about to get her into some seriously deep water. Luckily, Mercy isn’t exactly normal herself.

Moon Called is a great start for a great series. I had much fun reading these books.

Magic-Bites-Kate-Daniels-1-by-Ilona-Andrews.jpg

Kate Daniels is a mercenary who makes her living cleaning up magical messes left behind from by others.When her guardian is murdered, she gets dragged into a power struggle between two of the stronger factions within Atlanta’s magic community. The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who controls vampires, and the Pack, a clan of shifters, blame each other for a series of bizarre murders. Kate finds herself the counterpoint in the struggle to normalize their relationship and to stop the murders.

This is a good read, and the start of a great series. I have only read a few of the first books, I kind of forgot them when I was waiting for the next in the series, but I plan to read them.

Urban-Shaman-Walker-Papers-1-by-C.E.-Murphy.jpg

Joanne Walker has just discovered that she has shamanic powers, and to top it off, she only has three days to learn to use them. If she can’t do that, the world will be ravaged by the newly unleashed Wild Hunt.

Its been a while since a I read the Urban Shaman, or any other book in the Walker Papers series. But I remember that I really liked it. Great books.

Written-in-Red-The-Others-1-by-Anne-Bishop.jpg

Meg Corbyn is a cassandra sangue, also known as a blood prophet. What this means is that she can see the future when her skin is cut. She and others like her has been enslaved for their abilities, but Meg manages to escape. She stumbles into Lakeside Courtyard, a business district controlled by the others, and she manages to land herself a job as the human liaison. The others are vampires, shape shifters and other magical beings, and humans have no control in their small part of town. Meg is safe from her enslaver as long as she stays inside the land controlled by the others. But is she safe from the others?

The Others are an amazing urban fantasy series. I cant wait to read the next book.

Storm-Front-The-Dresden-Files-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

Harry Dresden, a Chicago bound professional wizard, and the only one with an ad in the yellow pages. Business is sadly dreadful, so he jumps on it when the local police bring him in as a consultant on a strange double murder.

The Dresden Files is a must read for anyone with the slightest interest in this gangrene.

Bloodfire-Blood-Destiny-1-by-Helen-Harper-.jpg

Mack might be, to all intents and purposes, a normal looking human, but she lives with a pack of shapeshifters in Cornwall in rural England after being dumped there by her mother when she was just a young child. She thinks she is a regular human, but is she?

Blood Destiny is an ok series. I have read all the books, and it was worth the time, unless you have something better in your to read list.

Twilight-Twilight-Saga-1-by-Stephenie-Meyer.jpg

When Bella Swan moves to the Forks, a small, cloudy and rainy town in Washington, she meets Edward Cullen. Her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she discovers that the beautiful Edward is a vampire. They becomes lovers, but what Bella doesn’t realize is the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires.

Twilight is the first book in the Twilight Saga. I remember I liked the books, but they are not good enough for a reread. That might be because I am both the wrong gender and above the target age.

Stray-Shifters-1-by-Rachel-Vincent.jpg

Faythe Sanders is a Texas grad student and a shape-shifting werecat. After she is attacked by a stray her father, the pack alpha, orders her back to the pack. Female werecats are rare, and two others have gone missing. What will happen to Faythe.

The Shifters are some ok paranormal books. Not the best, but still far from the worst. Give them a try.

Spiders-Bite-Elemental-Assassin-1-by-Jennifer-Estep.jpg

Gin Blanco is the Spider, the most feared assassin in the south, but here day job is at the Pork Pit, here restaurant, the best barbecue in Ashland. She is both a stone elemental and an ice elemental. She tries to not use it while working as the Spider, but it is handy from time to time. Gin`s family was murdered by a notorious Fire elemental when she was thirteen. She ended on the streets but was found by Fletcher Lane, the assassin called the Tin Man. He become her mentor and handler and trained her to become the superior assassin she is to-day.

This is a really good series, absolute worth reading. I know some complain a little on her writing skills, too much redundancy, but it did not bother me.

Mark-of-the-Demon-Kara-Gillian-1-by-Diana-Rowland.jpg

Kara Gillian is a detective and a summoner of daemons. During a routine summoning where she wanted to use her skill to track down a serial killer she accidentally summoned Rhyzkahl, and angelic human looking creature. What is this powerful undaemon looking creature and can she stop the serial killer?

Mark of the Demon is the first book in the Kara Gillian series. It is a really great book, just as the rest of them.

TV

Bitten-TV.jpg

Based on the excellent book series; Women of the Otherworld by Kelley Armstrong. We follow Elena Michaels a werewolf that abandoned her pack to take refuge in the new city with where she got a successful photography career. But trouble is brewing at the packs home, and her alpha is calling her back to help out. What will come of her peaceful life, and will the pack survive.

I hope this series is going to last for a long time. It is excellent show and they have plenty of material to build on from the books.

Teen-Wolf-TV.jpg

Scott McCall’s life changes forever when he is bitten by a werewolf and becomes one himself. Some changes are positive, like strength, super-hearing and a super healing. But there are problems and dangers that come along with being a lycanthrope, both from other werewolfs and other creatures, but also from werewolf hunters.

I like it. I think it is better than the more popular show Vampires Diary. If you like other teen paranormal shows then you will most likely like this one to.

What do you recommend that are similar to Skinwalker, and why?