If you like “Harry Potter” by J.K. Rowling, then you might enjoy…

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

If you like Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1) then you will most likely like some or all the following recommended Books, TV-shows, Movies and Animes. I find them to have some degree of similarity with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

Book

The-Ruins-of-Gorlan-Rangers-Apprentice-1-by-John-A.-Flanagan.jpg

Will is fifteen and small for his age. At the choosing he is chosen to become the rangers apprentice. Rangers are seen as magical by the people, they are that good. They are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And now, there is a big battle brewing.

The Ruins of Gorlan is the first book in the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and it is really good. The other books in the series are some good and some bad.

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, it’s an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon, and the rest of the The Inheritance Cycle, is ok books, but not more than that. They are worth reading, but only if you do not have anything better at hand.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I don’t think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

The-Hunger-Games-The-Hunger-Games-1-by-Suzanne-Collins.jpg

Panem is a nation consisting of a shining Capitol for the wealthy surrounded by twelve outlying poorer districts. Long ago a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and as part of the surrender terms, each of the twelve surviving districts agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games,” a fight to the death on live TV. Katniss Everdeen, a sixteen year old girl from district twelve, ends up as the female tribute from her district. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives, some of whom have trained for this their whole lives.

This is the first book in The Hunger Games trilogy. This books are worth reading, not among the best, but still worth the time.

I am not sure why I think they belong together, but I think they do. If you like one then I am quite sure you will like the other too.

Marked-House-of-Night-1-by-P.-C.-Cast.jpg

Zoey is a 16-year-old girl who is marked. Those who are marked are sent to the House of Night. It`s a school where marked teenagers are sent to undergo the change to become a vampire.

House of Night is an ok paranormal teen series. Nothing special, but worth a read if you are into books like this.

Instead of a school for wizards, House of Night is a school for vampires. House of Night is also focused slightly more toward female readers while Harry Potter are focused on both.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The main similarity between the Kingkiller Chronicle and Harry Potter is the magical school aspect.

The-Lion-the-Witch-and-the-Wardrobe-Chronicles-of-Narnia-1-by-C.-S.-Lewis.jpg

Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie are four sibling that step through a wardrobe door and into the fantastical land of Narnia. A land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. A land of talking animals and half animal half human creatures. A land of fantasy.

I remember reading this as a child. It was captivating. So many good memories.

The-Hobbit-or-There-and-Back-Again.jpg

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than the local tavern. His relaxed life comes to an abrupt end when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to enlist him on their quest. Their quest is to journey to the smoky mountain, the dwarfs ancient stronghold, and raid the treasure hoard that now is guarded by the terrifying dragon Smaug. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey will bring him a magic ring and a frightening encounter with a creature known as Gollum.

The Hobbit, or There and Back Again, is a really good book. It might be mainly targeted for children, but it is also great for adults… Or at least adults like me.

The-Amulet-of-Samarkand-Bartimaeus-Sequence-1-by-Jonathan-Stroud.jpg

Britain is ruled by powerful magicians, and Nathaniel, a young boy, is sold to the government by his birth parents. Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny” as he is sent to live as an apprentice to Arthur Underwood, a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician. Nathaniel hones his magic skills to be able to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to take revenge on ruthless magician Simon Lovelace who publicly humiliated him. He plans to do this by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Lovelace. Nathaniel is plunged into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

This is a well paced story with a good plot. You should read this series, it is really good.
he story itself is well-paced and complex enough to keep the reader guessing. It ends independently but with enough loose ends to point to an obvious sequel, which I for one eagerly await. Very highly recommended.

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Lord-of-the-Rings-1-by-J.R.R.-Tolkien.jpg

A hobbit gets a ring and the wizard discover its evil power. They have to destroy it, but only one place can do that. A small fellowship is formed to get to he place it has to be destroyed. Orcs and other evils try to stop them… You know the story, no need for me to tell more of it.

The Lord of the Rings is a classic fantasy book and a must read for any fan of the genre.

Sabriel-Abhorsen-1.jpg

Two neighbouring countries are divided by a wall, Ancelstierre to the south and the Old Kingdom to the north. Ancelstierre has a technology level and society similar to that of early 20th century England. The Old Kingdom has a more medieval technological level, but they do have both Free magic and Charter Magic. This last titbit is officially denied by the government of Ancelstierre and disbelieved by most of their inhabitants.

Sabriel is in her last year at Wyverley College, a private school in Ancelstierre that lies close to the wall to the Old Kingdom. An undead creature enters their dormitory. Sabriel notices it is attempting to communicate, it’s a messenger from her father, the Abhorsen, who is past the Seventh Gate of Death. He tells her that she is to take on the role of Abhorsen and defeat Kerrigor, a powerful necromancer, who is attempting to make his way back into Life. The unded messanger gives her the Abhorsen’s bandelier of bells, the Abhorsen’s sword and a map of the Old Kingdom. Sabriel leaves Wyverley College and travel into the mythical land of the Old kingdom.

Sabriel is a really great book and the rest of the Abhorsen books are just as good.

Dragonriders-of-Pern-Dragonriders-of-Pern-1-by-Anne-McCaffrey.jpg

Humans and their flying dragon companions live in fear of thread, a caustic, deadly material that falls sporadically from space. But when the thread doesn’t fall for a long time, people become complacent, forgetting that it is the brave dragonriders who can save them from the periodic threat. But when the thread falls, human and dragon heroes must fight the scourge. – Amazon

Great books. It’s a while since I read them, but they are great.

The-Golden-Compass-His-Dark-Materials-1.jpg

Lyra Belacqua is an orphan living in the precincts of Oxford University. Her world in snot like ours, Lyra and the rest of her companions all have a personal daemon. This daemon is the personification of their sole in an animal form. Her peaceful life is changed when Lord Asriel, her uncle, arrives with strange and dangerous tidings from the far north. He also has photographs of a mysterious phenomenon called Dust and the dim outline of a city suspended in the northern lights that he suspects is part of an alternate universe. Lyra is left in the care of Mrs. Coulter a mysterious scholar and explorer. Lyra learns that many children disappears, and when her friend Roger is kidnapped she sets out to find him. Her search leads her to the top of the world where she learns that the missing children andtheir daemons are used in horrific experiments.

I remember liking this trilogy quite well. It’s a good children and young adult book. I think I would still like it if I were to read it again now as a regular adult.

Enders-Game-The-Ender-Quintet-1-by-Orson-Scott-Card-.jpg

The earth’s government agencies started to breed child geniuses to train as soldiers in order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack. The brilliant young boy Andrew “Ender” Wiggin is drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training. Ender’s skills make him a leader among his peers and respected in the Battle Room, where they play at mock battles in zero gravity. Will Ender become the great general Earth needs to survive?

Do not judge a book by its authors personal views. This is an excellent book, and you should not forego it because of Orson Scott Card stupid personal views.

Ender`s Gamse might not be about magic, but it has a similar feel as Harry Potter. If you like one then you probably like the other too.

Vampire-Academy-Vampire-Academy-1.jpg

There are two races of vampires. One, the Moroi, are alive and wield elemental magical. The other, the Strigoi, are undead and evil. Rose Hathaway, a half vampire, is a bodyguard in training for her firend Lissa Dragomir, a Moroi princess. They go to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a hidden boarding school where vampires are educated in the ways of magic and half-human teens train to protect them.

Vampire Academy is actually a quite good teen paranormal romance book. I have actually read all of them.

The-Witches-by-Roald-Dahl.jpg

A boy and his grandma is going on holiday together. They are staying on a resort. What they do not know is that this resort is holding a Witch convention when they are there. Witches are the most dangerous of all living creatures on earth. There’s nothing they hate so much as children, and the theme for this convention is a plan to turn as many children as possible into mice.

TV

Avatar-The-Last-Airbender-TV.jpg

Aang is a twelve-year-old boy and the current reincarnation of the avatar. The avatar is the only person who can bend all for elements at the same time, fire, earth, water and air. The avatar is meant to keep balance in the world. Balance between the humans and between the humans and the spirits. Aang was born an air temple among the air nomads, but he runaway and the avatar was lost for decades. Aang has now return, not a day older, but the world he lived in has changed drastically. He is now the last air bender, the other has been wiped out, and the world has become unbalanced. Can he bring balance back to the world.

Avatar: The Last Airbender is a really good tv show. And it actually comes from Nicelodeon of all places. Avatar is not only for children, even adults might find this tv show interesting.

Movie

The-Chronicles-of-Narnia-The-Lion-the-Witch-and-the-Wardrobe-Movie-2005.jpg

Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie are four sibling that step through a wardrobe door and into the fantastical land of Narnia. A land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. A land of talking animals and half animal half human creatures. A land of fantasy.

A great movie. I`m not sure if it is as good as the old TV series, but that is probably just Nostalgia talking.

The-Princess-Bride-Movie-1987.jpg

A Wondrous Tale Of Wit And Whimsey, The Princess Bride Willtransport You To A Magical Land Where Fantasy Reigns Supreme,And Kings And Queens Of All Ages Will Want To Return Again Andagain.

The Princess Bride is a great classic. What, you do not agree, inconceivable. Every one loves this movie. It’s so silly at times, but that is what makes it great. Do you want a peanut?

Jack-the-Giant-Slayer-Movie-2013.jpg

Fee-fi-fo-fum,
I smell the blood of an Englishman,
Be he live, or be he dead
I’ll grind his bones to make my bread.

Jack is a farm boy who end up unwillingly trading his horse for some beans. In the city he also meats the princess, and she later comes running and ends up on his farm. Jack looses the beans under his shack and in the rainstorm they grow. They grow and they grow until they reach the giants home. Sadly his shack is lifted up on the top of the been stilk and in the shack the princess is.

Jack the Giant Slayer is a good movie. I really liked it.

The-Sorcerers-Apprentice-Movie-2010.jpg

Balthazar Blake is a sorcerer that is defending Manhattan against dark forces full-time. When he discovers a seemingly average kid that shows hidden potential, he takes him on as his apprentice.

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is a highly entertaining movie. Family friendly and a great watch.

The-Forbidden-Kingdom-Movie-2008.jpg

a kung fu obsessed American teenager accidentally get sent back to an alternative version of ancient China. There he joins up with a band of martial arts warriors in order to free the imprisoned Monkey King. He is supposed to be the chosen one, but he is a cluts.

The-Witches-Movie-1990.jpg

A boy and his grandma is going on holiday together. They are staying on a resort. What they do not know is that this resort is holding a Witch convention when they are there. Witches are the most dangerous of all living creatures on earth. There’s nothing they hate so much as children, and the theme for this convention is a plan to turn as many children as possible into mice.

This was an interesting and scary book when I was young. Absolutely worth reading. I have not read it as an adult.

Anime

Zero-no-Tsukaima-Anime.jpg

Hiraga Saito is an average Japanese boy until the day he is suddenly finds himself in an alternate universe. Louise Françoise, magician at the Tristein Academy, anciently summon him when she is trying to summon a familiar. A familiar is a servant and partner to support their master as they do magic. Hiraga and Louise can’t stand each other but they have no other choice than to cooperate together. Louise can`t attempt another summoning and Hiraga can’t return tho his world. Louise is nicknamed Zero Louise by the other students because she is not able to use her magic correctly. More problems starts when Hiraga refuse to accept the social inequities that Louise and other aristocrats consider the status quo, and Louise discovers that her magic is more unique than anybody else’s magic.

Zero no Tsukaima is a quit good anime. Far from the best, but still more than watchable. Adults who has never watched animes should probably pick another one if they want to try out an anime to watch. But anyone else should give it a try.

Magic school, and the head master is like a perverted version of Dumbledor.

So there you have it, 24 ideas for what to do after finishing Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. What do you recommend, please mention why you recommend it to?