If you like “Dragonriders of Pern” by Anne McCaffrey, then you might enjoy…

Dragonriders-of-Pern-Dragonriders-of-Pern-1-by-Anne-McCaffrey.jpg
Humans and their flying dragon companions live in fear of thread, a caustic, deadly material that falls sporadically from space. But when the thread doesn’t fall for a long time, people become complacent, forgetting that it is the brave dragonriders who can save them from the periodic threat. But when the thread falls, human and dragon heroes must fight the scourge. – Amazon

Books,

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, it’s an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon, and the rest of the The Inheritance Cycle, is ok books, but not more than that. They are worth reading, but only if you do not have anything better at hand.

Pawn-of-Prophecy-The-Belgariad-1-by-David-Eddings.jpg

Garion is a young boy living on a large farm. He lives there in a peaceful happy ordinary life with his Aunt Pol and his friend Durnik the blacksmith. One they when the storyteller called Mister Wolf comes on his regular visits, Garion`s life undergo a dramatic change. Garion, aunt Pol, Mister Wolfe and Durnik sets out on a long journey to retrieve a lost item.

Pawn of Prophecy, the first book in The Belgariad, is a splendid book. It is very old fashion classic fantasy with a boy growing up with special powers, a travelling quest, black and white morals and fighting the evil overlord. But it is written very well and it is absolutely worth reading. It might be a classic in the fantasy genre.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1-by-Ursula-K.-Le-Guin.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I don’t think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

Dragon-Champion-Age-of-Fire-1-by-E.E.-Knight.jpg

Auron, a rare defenseless gray dragon that might be the last of his breed, witnesses the slaughter of his parents at the hands of a band of dwarves. Once out of the mountain cave he was born in, he quickly learns just how dangerous it is to be a dragon. With dwarves, elves, and humans relentlessly hunting him. Armed with nothing but his claws and a determination to survive, he sets off in search of his kind. But to find other dragons-or, at least, find out who’s killing them off. Dragon Champion is the first book in the Age of Fire series. Some of the other books in the series shows us how it goes with Auro`s siblings once they flee the cave.

This is a fun and different fantasy book. You should read this, as long as you do not mind reading from the point of view of a dragon.

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerers-Stone-Harry-Potter-1-by-J.K.-Rowling.jpg

Harry lives a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny cupboard under the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in ten years. But all that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl, a letter with an invitation to Hogwart, an infamous school for witches and wizards.

This is the first book of a finished seven book series about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. To be honest, I am not a fan of the two first books in this series, but the rest of them are absolutely fantastic. Highly recommended.

Dragonfriend-Dragonfriend-1.jpg

Hualiama is a foundling who is adopted into the royal family of Fra’anior. But one day the guard Captain Ra’aba betray his king and takeover the kingdom. In doing so hi gravely wounds Hualiama and those her over the Dragon-ship to die. Rescued by Flicker, the valiant dragonet. Can they save Hualiama’s beloved kingdom of Fra’anior and restore the king to the Onyx Throne.

I got kind of bored with this book. I did finish it, but I did not continue on the second book. Probably better for a younger audience.

The-Summer-Dragon-The-Evertide-1.jpg

Maia and her family are dragon breeders. As she comes of age this year she hopes to get a dragon of her own to add to their stable of breeding parents. Sadly there is a war, and it dos not go do good. And the politicians needs from their Dragonry dash her hopes. But then Maia and her brother both sees the summer dragon, a sign for big changes, and they both believe this means they will get their dragons this year. However, political factions vie to control the implied message of this sighting, each to further their own agendas. This sweeps Maia into dangerous adventures.

I liked this book. Cant wait for the next in this series. Interesting characters and the beginning of an epic story.

Nice-Dragons-Finish-Last-Heartstrikers-1.jpg

Julius the smallest dragon in the Heartstriker clan, and they are not nice. He survives by a simple code: keep quiet, don’t cause trouble, and stay out of the way of bigger dragons. But this is not the correct behavior for ambitious magical predators. His mother, Bethesda the Heartstriker, has finally reached the end of her patience of Julius’s meek attitude. She seals him in human form and banish him to the DFC, a metropolis built upon old Detroit. She gives him one moth to prove that he can be a ruthless dragon, or he can say farewell to his dragon form forever. His task is not made easier by DFC being a city of modern mages and vengeful spirits where dragons are considered monsters to be exterminated on sight.

The Heartstrikers series is a good urban fantasy and slightly post-apocalyptic series. I think they are YA books, but they are excellent for adults too.

The-Pygmy-Dragon-Shapeshifter-Dragon-Legends-1.jpg

Pip is a 3 foot and 1 inch tall Pygmy warrior. She was kidnapped by big-people and put in a zoo with a giant ape. She learn speak and write big-people language, among other things, by a friendly scholar that visits her. Then, the Dragon Zardon kidnaps her from the zoo and fly her to a school where people learn to be Dragon Riders.

Very similar to Dragonfriend, just better. Same author, so that might be the reason.

His-Majestys-Dragon-Temeraire-1.jpg

The ship HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes an unhatched dragon egg. This ends Captain Will Laurence`s seafaring life when he ends up having to change his captaincy from his trusted boat over to a dragon. He and the dragon Temeraire joins the Aerial Corps where Laurence must complete crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as France’s own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonaparte’s boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into their own baptism of fire.

The Temeraire series is a superb fantasy series. All fantasy lowers must read this one, and if you love dragons it’s even better.