If you like “Demon Cycle” by Peter V. Brett, then you might enjoy…

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demon Cycle is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you will love some of the following Books, Movies and Animes.

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

Book

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soilless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promising medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

This book is highly recommended. It starts of a very promising series. If you like fantasy books, then this is a must read.

Sabriel-Abhorsen-1.jpg

Two neighbouring countries are divided by a wall, Ancelstierre to the south and the Old Kingdom to the north. Ancelstierre has a technology level and society similar to that of early 20th century England. The Old Kingdom has a more medieval technological level, but they do have both Free magic and Charter Magic. This last titbit is officially denied by the government of Ancelstierre and disbelieved by most of their inhabitants.

Sabriel is in her last year at Wyverley College, a private school in Ancelstierre that lies close to the wall to the Old Kingdom. An undead creature enters their dormitory. Sabriel notices it is attempting to communicate, it’s a messenger from her father, the Abhorsen, who is past the Seventh Gate of Death. He tells her that she is to take on the role of Abhorsen and defeat Kerrigor, a powerful necromancer, who is attempting to make his way back into Life. The undead messenger gives her the Abhorsen’s bandoliers of bells, the Abhorsen’s sword and a map of the Old Kingdom. Sabriel leaves Wyverley College and travel into the mytical land of the Old Kongdom.

Sabriel is a really great book and the rest of the Abhorsen books are just as good.

Abhorsen have is mainly focused on a younger audience, but it is still great for us older folks. The spirits in Abhorsen are of the dead, that’s not the case in The Warded man.

The-Dragonbone-Chair-Memory-Sorrow-and-Thorn-1-by-Tad-Williams.jpg

The High King of Osten Ard, slayer of the dread dragon Shurakai, lies dying. With his death, the Storm King, undead ruler of the elvishlike Siti, will finally be free to unleash his plans to regain his lost realm. Only the League of the Scroll, a small secret group with members scattered all over, recognizes the true danger. Simon, a castle scullion and an unknowingly apprenticed to a member of this League, will be tossed out in the centre of the conflict and the Leagues quest for the solution to a riddle of long-lost swords of power. Simon will be confronted with enemies straight out of a legend-maker’s worst nightmares!

I remember I was spell-bound by this trilogy. Memory, Sorrow and Thorn was one of the earlier fantasy series i read, and it was really good. All fantasy fans should read this trilogy.

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

The Way of Shadows is the first book in the Night Angel Trilogy, an excellent book it is. The hours just fly by as we live the life of Kylar Stern.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

A Song of Ice and Fire not too similar. It follows multiple people and it dos not follow the coming of age part that is so common in fantasy books.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

Codex Alera also have spirit like beings. In the wilder parts of the land they also some times roam free and wreak havoc.

Assassins-Apprentice-Farseer-trilogy-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stable boy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Blood-Song-Ravens-Shadow-1-by-Anthony-Ryan.jpg

Vaelin Al Sorna was only a ten-year old child when his father left him at the gate of the Sixth Order. Sixth of in all seven orders, the Sixth Order wields the sword of justice and smites the enemies of the Faith and the Realm. The other orders of the faith has each its own special field of responsibility. Vaelin will be trained and hardened to have a chance of survive the dangerous life of a warrior of the Faith. He has no family now save the Order, his brothers in arms. Vaelin Al Sorna is destined for a future he has yet to comprehend. A future that will alter not only the Realm, but the world.

Blood Song is the first book in the Raven’s Shadow series. I know many people love this book, I liked to, but I fell out for a while. There was something that made me lose attention at the end of the first book and the beginning of the second. However, I liked it enough to keep reading the books when they come.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as an orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

Both books follows the classical fantasy theme about a nobody young boy growing up with great gifts. They are both gifted “magicians”. In “The Painted Man” the magic system contains written/carved wards while in “The Name of the Wind” the magic system is build up of multiple more standard parts.

Movie

The-Lord-of-the-Rings-The-Fellowship-of-the-Ring-Movie-2001.jpg

In The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring we are introduces to Frodo as he receives the ring from Bilbo. He starts on his journey to Mordor to destroy the ring in the fires of Mount Doom. On his way there we are in this first part gradually introduced to high companions that will join him in a fellowship to destroy the ring. This journey will be full of perils, from small skirmishes, to large battles and to internal battles of the mind.

I remember I could barely wait for the next movie in this series when I first watched it. This is the first movie in a really good movie trilogy. It also keeps fairly close to the story told in the books. A must watch for everyone.

Anime

Claymore-Anime-2007.jpg

In a world that humans must share with Yoma, demonic predators who feast on human intestines, we follow a young boy, Raki, who has lost everything to the Yomas. He joins up with Clare, a slightly older girl and a Claymore. Claymores are half human and half Yoma. They are detested by most humans, but they are necessary. They are the only force that stands between them and getting there intestines eaten. Clare and Raki travels together around on missions set by the Claymore leaders to take care of Yoma infestations. Clare is considered an outcast py her own people for picking up a young boy and for almost losing herself to her youma side.

Claymore is a really good anime. It might also be interesting for people who usually do not watch animes.

Berserk-Anime-1997.jpg

Guts is a brave young warrior who fights as a mercenary on the front lines. He befriends the charismatic and deadly Griffith. Griffith is the leader of the Band of the Hawk, a group of rouge soldiers. The armies of Midland will quake with fear as Griffith and Guts set off on a path that will bring the world to its knees.

I love Berserk. It a masterpiece. People who have never watched animes might also like it.

What do you think, are they similar to The Painted Man? Anything else you think should be on this list?