If you like “Codex Alera” by Jim Butcher, then you might enjoy…

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

If you like Furies of Calderon (Codex Alera #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books and TV-shows. I find them to have some degree of similarity with Furies of Calderon.

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Book

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soiless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promesing medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

This book is highly recommended. It starts of a very promising series. If you like fantasy books, then this is a must read.

They both have spirits that are an integral part of their magic systems. The are epic fantasy books where humans are warring against them self and a deadly non human race.

Wizards-First-Rule-Sword-of-Truth-1-by-Terry-Goodkind.jpg

Richard Cypher, a young man in the Westland, helps out Kahlan Amnell, a young woman from the Midlands in trouble. She has managed to cross the boundary between the lands to see Zedd, of all people. She brings with her dark news from the other side of the Boundary. Darken Rahl, Ruler of D’Hara, has brought down the Boundary between D’Hara and the Midlands. Kahlan Amnell seeks a great wizard who had left the Midlands for the Magic free Westlands to have him Name a Seeker of Truth. That way they can find a way to defend them self against Darken Rahl.

I remember that I really liked The Sword of Truth. I guess i still do. I have read that some people complain about bad writing, that might be true, but I am very seldom affected by bad writing. I am more interesting in story and characters, and that it has. This book series is absolutely worth a try… if you have time form 11 books with about 700 pages each.

Sword of Truth and Codex Alera are both two really long book series and they are both also really good. Both series follows a young boy that unknown to them have royal/noble blood and they grows up to be an important person.

The-Spirit-Thief-The-Legend-of-Eli-Monpress-1-by-Rachel-Aaron.jpg

Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s the greatest thief of his time. He is also a spirit charmer, a wizard. He’s companions are a swordsman carrying the most powerful magic sword in the world but with no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls.

Every single object has a spirit, and a wizard’s power derives from the ability to enter into a mutual contract with these spirits. On the more evil side of the spectrum wizards can alsoenslave the spirits. Eli, uniquely, seems to be able to just talk them into doing what he wants. This can be seen in the opening scene of The Spirit Thief where Eli Monpress is trying to escape from the royal dungeon of Mellinor. He does this bycharming the dungeon’s door into opening. He is persuading, cajoling and wheedling it into letting him through. Explaining to it that it really would be much better off without those annoying nails keeping it together.

This book might not be deep or complex, but it is still a very good read. It is written in a witty and charming way that makes it hard to lay down.

The Legend of Eli Monpress and Codex Alera both have a similarish magic system. They both work by manipulating spirits. The Legend of Eli Monpress have more type of spirits and they are not bound to a person like they are in Codex Alera.

Sabriel-Abhorsen-1.jpg

Two neighbouring countries are divided by a wall, Ancelstierre to the south and the Old Kingdom to the north. Ancelstierre has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century England. The Old Kingdom has a more medieval technological level, but they do have both Free magic and Charter Magic. This last titbit is officially denied by the government of Ancelstierre and disbelieved by most of their inhabitants.

Sabriel is in her last year at Wyverley College, a private school in Ancelstierre that lies close to the wall to the Old Kingdom. An undead creature enters their dormitory. Sabriel notices it is attempting to communicate, its a messanger from her father, the Abhorsen, who is past the Seventh Gate of Death. He tells her that she is to take on the role of Abhorsen and defeat Kerrigor, a powerful necromancer, who is attempting to make his way back into Life. The unded messanger gives her the Abhorsen’s bandelier of bells, the Abhorsen’s sword and a map of the Old Kingdom. Sabriel leaves Wyverley College and travel into the mytical land of the Old Kongdom.

Sabriel is a really great book and the rest of the Abhorsen books are just as good.

Abhorsen has spirits of the dead while Codex Alera has natural spirits. Abhorsen is more directed toward younger readers, but it is still a very good read for older people.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

Both are epic fantasy series and the humans in both are threaten by inhuman forces.

Storm-Front-The-Dresden-Files-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

Harry Dresden, a Chicago bound professional wizard, and the only one with an add in the yellow pages. Business is sadly dreadful, so he jumps on it when the local police bring him in as a consultant on a strange double murder.

The Dresden Files is a must read for anyone with the slightest interest in this gangrene.

The same author, otherwise not that much in common.

Name-of-the-Wind-Kingkiller-Chronicle-1-by-Patrick-Rothfuss.jpg

This is the first book in the Kingkiller Chronicle, a story that tells a first person story of a young man who grows to be the most notorious magician his world has ever seen. From his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, to years spent as a orphan suer rat in a crime ridden city, to his daringly brazen yet successful gamble to enter a legendary school of magic.

This book starts out a little slow, but it becomes one of the better fantasy books there is. It`s a must read for any fantasy book lover.

The main similarity between The Belgariad and the Kingkiller Chronicle is the classical fantasy coming to age part. They are also both really good book series with some similar feel to them.

Mistborn-Mistborn-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

A World that has been a wasteland of ash and mist for over a thousand years. For this time the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity”, has reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror. Every revolt has failed miserably. Then a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa named Kelsier, placed it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. The skill to burn all sixteen of the Allomantic metals. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate play, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark. For this Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom capable of burning one of the Allomantic metals. Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life, a girl with the potential to become a Mistborn like himself.

This is the first book in the Mistborn series. Both this book and the rest of the series is really good. If you like fantasy books then this should be a must read.

Spiders-Bite-Elemental-Assassin-1-by-Jennifer-Estep.jpg

Gin Blanco is the Spider, the most feared assassin in the south, but here day job is at the Pork Pit, here restaurant, the best barbecue in Ashland. She is both a stone elemental and an ice elemental. She tries to not use it while working as the Spider, but it is handy from time to time. Gin`s family was murdered by a notorious Fire elemental when she was thirteen. She ended on the streets but was found by Fletcher Lane, the assassin called the Tin Man. He become her mentor and handler and trained her to become the superior assassin she is to day.

This is a really good series, absolute worth reading. I know some complain a little on her writing skills, to much redundancy, but it did not bother me.

Elemental Assassin and Code Alera both have a similarish magic system. There are not that much other similarities.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

Assassins-Apprentice-Realm-of-the-Elderlings-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stableboy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Both Farseer and Codex Alera follows a young boy as he grows up. They both also have noble/royal blood in their veins.

The-Way-of-Shadows-The-Night-Angel-Trilogy-1-by-Brent-Weeks.jpg

For Azoth, a guild rat living in the slum, survival is precarious. To survive this brutal life he learned to judge people quickly, and to take calculated risks. Risks like selling his soul to the devil, Durzo Blint, the most accomplished assassin there is. Azoth does this in order to protect his friends Jaral and Doll-girl, but to be accepted by Durzo Blint, Azoth must turn his back on his old life and embrace a new identity and name. As Kylar Stern, he must learn to navigate the assassins world of dangerous politics and strange magics.

The Way of Shadows is the first book in the Night Angel Trilogy, an an excellent book it is. The hours just fly by as we live the life of Kylar Stern.

TV

Avatar-The-Last-Airbender-TV.jpg

Aang is a twelve year old boy and the current reincarnation of the avatar. The avatar is the only person who can bend all for elements at the same time, fire, earth, water and air. The avatar is meant to keep balance in the world. Balance between the humans and between the humans and the spirits. Aang was born a air temple among the air nomads, but he runaway and the avatar was lost for decades. Aang has now return, not a day older, but the world he lived in has changed drastically. He is now the last air bender, the other has been wiped out, and the world has become unbalanced. Can he bring balance back to the world.

Avatar: The Last Airbender is a really good tv show. And it actually comes from Nicelodeon of all places. Avatar is not only for children, even adults might find this tv show interesting.

Avatar: The Last Airbender and Code Alera both have a similarish magic system.

The-Legend-of-Korra-TV.jpg

Korra is from the Southern Water Tribe and she is the new reincarnation of the avatar after Aang died. She leaves the safety of her home to travel to Republic City and there she is tossed into problems that she has to deal with straight away.

The Legend of Korra is at least as good as Avatar: The last air bender. It looks like it is focused toward a slightly older audience, teenager, but it is perfect for older people to.

The Legend of Korra and Code Alera both have a similarish magic system.

Her you go, 14 recommendations from me to you. Do you have any to give in return?