If you like “Anita Blake Vampire Hunter” by Laurell K. Hamilton, then you might enjoy…

Guilty-Pleasures-Anita-Blake-Vampire-Hunter-1-by-Laurell-K.-Hamilton.jpg
Anita Blake is a necromancer and vampire hunter. Vampires are protected by law, but when some of them gets out of hand, then you call Anita Blake, the Executioner. Guilty Pleasures, the first book in the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series, starts out with someone killing innocent vampires. Anita is approached by Jean Claude, the second strongest vampire in the city to help figur out who is killing vampires. Anita agrees to help out after a bit of vampiric arm-twisting.

Books,

Dead-Until-Dark-Southern-Vampire-Mysteries-1.jpg

True Blood, synthetic blood, has made it possible for the vampire community to reveal its existence to humans. Sookie Stackhouse is a twenty something telepathic waitress from Bon Temps a small town in Louisiana. She saves Bill Compton, a vampire and a Civil War veteran, from Rattrays, a couple of drainers. They where trying to steel his blood for its accelerates healing, increases strength, and improved libido. Sookie and Bill soon becomes an item, and Sookie get dragged into the world of vampires and other supernatural beings.

This is a good book series. I have not read all of them, I fell of when I at the time had read all of the available books. No sure if I am going to start it up again, but I might do it.

Sookie Stackhouse is not as straight forward hard hitter as Anita Blake, but she is strong in her own way. With her mind reading and all that.

A-Kiss-of-Shadows-Meredith-Gentry-1-by-Laurell-K.-Hamilton.jpg

Meredith Gentry is a fae and princess of the high court that is hiding in the human world. She is posing as a human and working as a P.I. focusing on supernatural crime. Meredith aunt, the Queen of Air and Darkness, has finally found her, and she has sent out some of the most powerful and beautiful men in the world to get her back.

A Kiss of Shadows is a fine paranormal romance book, the first in the Meredith Gentry series. It could have bean a really good book, but for me it was to much focus on all the sex. It got kind of boring, and I found my self wanting to skip huge chunks of the book. I do not mind explicit sex descriptions in books, but it should not take up to much of the space.

The Meredith Gentry books also has lots of filthy sex just as the Anita Blake books just gets more and more of during the series.

Succubus-Blues-Georgina-Kincaid-1-by-Richelle-Mead.jpg

Georgina Kincaid is a Succubus, and she works for Hell. Oh, and she can shapeshift into anything she want, she can even shapeshift her clothes to. Her boss is a middle-management demon is constantly harassing her to drain more life force from people. At least there’s her day job at a local bookstore to keep her happy. Free books, all the white chocolate mochas she can drink and friends, what more can a girl dream after. But all this might come to a stop, because something dangerous is at work in Seattle’s supernatural underground. Georgina discovers that there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny.

Succubus Blues is the first book where we follow Georgina Kincaid. This is an thrilling and sexy book. Absolutly worth reading.

The Georgina Kincaid series looks from the description as it would be just as filthy ad the later Anita Blake books, but that’s not true. The Georgina Kincaid dos not focus as much on the erotic parts, which is good.

Sabriel-Abhorsen-1.jpg

Two neighbouring countries are divided by a wall, Ancelstierre to the south and the Old Kingdom to the north. Ancelstierre has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century England. The Old Kingdom has a more medieval technological level, but they do have both Free magic and Charter Magic. This last titbit is officially denied by the government of Ancelstierre and disbelieved by most of their inhabitants.

Sabriel is in her last year at Wyverley College, a private school in Ancelstierre that lies close to the wall to the Old Kingdom. An undead creature enters their dormitory. Sabriel notices it is attempting to communicate, its a messanger from her father, the Abhorsen, who is past the Seventh Gate of Death. He tells her that she is to take on the role of Abhorsen and defeat Kerrigor, a powerful necromancer, who is attempting to make his way back into Life. The unded messanger gives her the Abhorsen’s bandelier of bells, the Abhorsen’s sword and a map of the Old Kingdom. Sabriel leaves Wyverley College and travel into the mytical land of the Old Kongdom.

Sabriel is a really great book and the rest of the Abhorsen books are just as good.

Sabriel is more PG13 friendly books. The only common theme is that both are strong female lead characters with necromancer powers.

Skinwalker-Jane-Yellowrock-1-by-Faith-Hunter.jpg

Jane Yellowrock is a skinwalker that shares her body with the soul of a mountain lion. She can take any form aslong as the has some bones with DNA from them. Jane works as a freelance rogue-vampire hunter. In this first book she is hired to take care of a nasty rogue-vampire in New Orleans. When she is there she comes in contact with the vampire society and learns the about the “sane” vampires. She also learns more about her own Cherokee heritage,

Great story and strong characters makes this a great series. You should read this.

Both Jane Yellowrock and Anita Blake is strong and powerful female characters and both are vampire hunters. However, the Jane Yellowrock books manages to keep the books at a high level and true to the original theme during the series while the Anita Blake books drops of and shift even more into erotic literature than they already started with.

Stray-Shifters-1-by-Rachel-Vincent.jpg

Faythe Sanders is a Texas grad student and a shape-shifting werecat. After she is attacked by a stray her father, the pack alpha, orders her back to the pack. Female werecats are rare, and two others have gone missing. What will happen to Faythe.

The Shifters are some ok paranormal books. Not the best, but still far from the worst. Give them a try.

Kitty-and-the-Midnight-Hour-Kitty-Norville-1.jpg

Kitty Norville is the wolf of lowest status in her pack and complete submissive. She has just realized that she can make it on her own working as a midnight-shift DJ for a Denver radio station, and that she doesn’t need the pack so much as she used to. But after getting one sexy werewolf-hunter and a few homicidal undead on her tail, Kitty may have bitten off more than she can chew?

It’s a while since I last read any of these books, but I remember them as fun and interesting. As I’m writing this I also discovered there are a bunch of new books in the series since last I read it, so it might be high time to take it up again. Worth reading if you like urban fantasy books.

TV-shows,

True-Blood.jpg

Sookie Stackhouse works as a waitress at Merlotte’s, a bar in a Bon Temps a southern town in the states. On day she meats Bill Compton, a 173-year old vampire. Vampires are outed to the world, and they try to be accepted as regular humans by drinking True Blood, a synthetic blood. Sookie`s life gets seriously complicated when she gets involved with the supernatural world, but Sookie is not an ordinary person herself either. She has the ability to read thoughts. True Blood is loosely based on the book series Southern Vampire Mysteries.

This is an excellent TV show. Te story separates it self from the books after the first season, but that’s OK. You should watch this show.

Being-Human.jpg

Mitchell, George and Annie are in there twenties and shares an apartment in Bristol England. However, they are not an ordinary group of twenty-something sharing an apartment, they are respectively a vampire, a werewolf and a ghost.

This show has some inconsistencies with rules about the supernatural that changes depending on the plot sometimes, but it is still an amazing show. Absolutely worth watching.

Lost-Girl.jpg

Bo is a sexy succubus, and to feed she sucks the life force out of people. For years she did not know what she was and had no control of her feeding. She fled one corpse after another until she accidentally crossed paths with Kenzi, a drifter and a thief. Bo rescued Kenzi from a date rape scum bag by killing him, which this time finally made the fae catch up with her. The fae are split in two sides, light and dark. Each Fae must choose one of the sides, and stick to it. Bo, who until now has lived outside the fae community, vows to live on her own terms even if it means existing alone between the dark and the light. She manages this with the help of her mischievous, but loyal friend, Kenzi, the handsome shapeshifter Dyson, and the beautiful human scientist Lauren. While Bo tries to unravel the riddle of her mysterious past she and her friends also tackle other problems that arise.

This is a really cool series, if you are in to this kind of stuff. Absolute worth watching.

Animes,

Blood-.jpg

Two groups have been at war for ages. The immortal bloodsucking monsters called Chiropterans and an organisation known as the Red Shield formed to track down these monsters and kill them. Saya Otonashiis a high-school girl who lives a peaceful life with her family. She sadly suffers from amnesia and can’t remember the past year of her life. One day her happy life is destroyed when a man gives her a katana and she finds herself fighting Chiropterans.

Blood+ is a good anime that any anime fan should watch. People new to animes can also try this one out.