If you like “Age of Fire” by E.E. Knight, then you might enjoy…

Dragon-Champion-Age-of-Fire-1-by-E.E.-Knight.jpg

If you like Dragon Champion (Age of Fire #1) then you will most likely like some or all of the following recommended Books and Movies. I find them to have some degree of similarity with Dragon Champion.

Auron, a rare defenseless gray dragon that might be the last of his breed, witnesses the slaughter of his parents at the hands of a band of dwarves. Once out of the mountain cave he was born in, he quickly learns just how dangerous it is to be a dragon. With dwarves, elves, and humans relentlessly hunting him. Armed with nothing but his claws and a determination to survive, he sets off in search of his kind. But to find other dragons-or, at least, find out who’s killing them off. Dragon Champion is the first book in the Age of Fire series. Some of the other books in the series shows us how it goes with Auro`s siblings once they flee the cave.

Book

His-Majestys-Dragon-Temeraire-1.jpg

The ship HMS Reliant captures a French frigate and seizes an unhatched dragon egg. This ends Captain Will Laurence`s seafaring life when he ends up having to change his captaincy from his trusted boat over to a dragon. He and the dragon Temeraire joins the Aerial Corps where Laurence must complete crash course in the daring tactics of airborne battle. For as Frances own dragon-borne forces rally to breach British soil in Bonapartes boldest gambit, Laurence and Temeraire must soar into their own baptism of fire.

The Temeraire series is a superb fantasy series. All fantasy lowers must read this one, and if you love dragons its even better.

The-Cloud-Roads-Raksura-1.jpg

Moon is a hape-shifter able to transform himself into a serpentine winged creature. Moon is an orphan that tries to fit in among the human tribes of his river valley, but he is constantly chased away when they find out what he is. One day he discovers a shape-shifter like himself and he is promised a welcome into this newcomers community.

The Raksura books are absolutely worth a chance.

Dragonriders-of-Pern-Dragonriders-of-Pern-1-by-Anne-McCaffrey.jpg

Humans and their flying dragon companions live in fear of thread, a caustic, deadly material that falls sporadically from space. But when the thread doesn’t fall for a long time, people become complacent, forgetting that it is the brave dragonriders who can save them from the periodic threat. But when the thread falls, human and dragon heroes must fight the scourge. – Amazon

Great books. Its a while since I read them, but they are great.

Eragon-The-Inheritance-Cycle-1.jpg

Eragon, a fifteen year old farm boy, finds a polished blue stone in the forest. He thinks it is just a lucky discovery that might buy is family meat for the winter. But it`s no stone, it’s an egg, and when a dragon hatches from it his life is changed forever. Eragon is thrust into a perilous new world of destiny, magic, and evil beings. Can Eragon take up become one of the legendary Dragon Riders and save the Empire?

Eragon, and the rest of the The Inheritance Cycle, is ok books, but not more than that. They are worth reading, but only if you do not have anything better at hand.

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

This is an excellent book series. It is sadly not finished jet, and it will probably take decades before it is finished, unless the author gets his finger out of his ass. But it is worth to wait on books of this superb quality.

Dragons, they are in both books. That is pretty much the only similarity between these two series.

Movie

Dragonheart-Movie-1996.jpg

The dragon Draco and the human Bowen team up to scam poor villagers out of their hard-earned money. First Draco terrorize some poor villagers, then Bowen comes in as the fearless dragon hunter and “kills” the scary dragon for a big sum of money. Their perfect act comes to a halt when they have to deal with an evil king that Draco healed and give partial immortality in the kings innocent youth.

Draco is one of the coolest dragons in any movie, and I would love to have a friend like him. Some book dragons like Temeraire are cooler, but Draco is still among the best.

How-to-Train-Your-Dragon-Movie-2010.jpg

Hiccup is a hapless young Viking who aspires to hunt dragons. He sneaks out against his fathers command to hunt for dragons and ends up battling a mysterious Night Fury dragon, but can’t bring himself to kill it. Instead, Hiccup and the dragon, Toothless, begins an unlikely friendship

I am a fan of animated movies like this, and this is a very good one. How to Train Your Dragon is interesting for all ages.

Her you go, 7 recommendations from me to you. Do you have any to give in return?