If you like “Abhorsen”, then you might enjoy…

Sabriel-Abhorsen-1.jpg

Abhorsen is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you wil love some of the following Books, TV-shows and Movies.

Two neighbouring countries are divided by a wall, Ancelstierre to the south and the Old Kingdom to the north. Ancelstierre has a technology level and society similar to that of early-20th century England. The Old Kingdom has a more medieval technological level, but they do have both Free magic and Charter Magic. This last titbit is officially denied by the government of Ancelstierre and disbelieved by most of their inhabitants.

Sabriel is in her last year at Wyverley College, a private school in Ancelstierre that lies close to the wall to the Old Kingdom. An undead creature enters their dormitory. Sabriel notices it is attempting to communicate, its a messanger from her father, the Abhorsen, who is past the Seventh Gate of Death. He tells her that she is to take on the role of Abhorsen and defeat Kerrigor, a powerful necromancer, who is attempting to make his way back into Life. The unded messanger gives her the Abhorsen’s bandelier of bells, the Abhorsen’s sword and a map of the Old Kingdom. Sabriel leaves Wyverley College and travel into the mytical land of the Old Kongdom.

Book

The-Magicians-Guild-The-Black-Magician-Trilogy-1-by-Trudi-Canavan-.jpg

Sonea is a young slum rat that suddenly discovers that she has magical potential when she throws a stone through a magical barrier and accidentally hist a magician shielded behind it. The magicians wants her join their guild but Sonea has an understandable but unnecessary distrust of the magicians, so she run away from them. The magicians must find her before her uncontrolled and untrained powers kill her and possibly destroys the city. This is not an easy task since Sonea knows the slums and its hidden suers like only a slum child can. The guild desperately tries to hunt her down to attempt to convince her to join them and start in their school.

I liked this book quite well, but I read it back in my earlier days when I was new to fantasy books. The story in The Magicians’ Guild is kind of unoriginal and follows standard fantasy structure. But if you are kind of new to fantasy books or like me, liking these kind of stories, then it should be a good read.

The Black Magician and Abhorsen dos not really have anything in common other than I feel that they somehow fit together. Although, they both have strong female lead characters.

The-Spirit-Thief-The-Legend-of-Eli-Monpress-1-by-Rachel-Aaron.jpg

Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s the greatest thief of his time. He is also a spirit charmer, a wizard. He’s companions are a swordsman carrying the most powerful magic sword in the world but with no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls.

Every single object has a spirit, and a wizard’s power derives from the ability to enter into a mutual contract with these spirits. On the more evil side of the spectrum wizards can alsoenslave the spirits. Eli, uniquely, seems to be able to just talk them into doing what he wants. This can be seen in the opening scene of The Spirit Thief where Eli Monpress is trying to escape from the royal dungeon of Mellinor. He does this bycharming the dungeon’s door into opening. He is persuading, cajoling and wheedling it into letting him through. Explaining to it that it really would be much better off without those annoying nails keeping it together.

This book might not be deep or complex, but it is still a very good read. It is written in a witty and charming way that makes it hard to lay down.

The Legend of Eli Monpress might not be about spirits of the dead, but it has spirits as a main components. Alto its is spirits of objects and living beings.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

Codex Alera is not about the dead or necromancers, but there are nature spirits. It might be directed toward a older audience, but it is not to dark or heavy for younger readers. As long as they are OK with reading books thick as bricks.

Divergent-Divergent-1-by-Veronica-Roth.jpg

The dystopian society in Divergent is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue. Candor the honest, Abnegation the selfless, Dauntless the brave, Amity the peaceful, and Erudite the intelligent. On an appointed day all sixteen year old teens must select the faction they want too devote the rest of their lives. Beatrice has to decide between staying with her family in Amity or choosing to be who she really is. She can’t have both, and the choice she makes ends up to surprises everyone, including herself. Beatrice takes the new name Tris when she joins her new faction. She discover that she also has a secret, one she has to keep hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death.

Many people like this book, but I`m not a big fan. It was ok, but I did not read the rest of the books in the series.

Divergent dos not have much in common with Abhorsen other than a strong female lead. But there is something that feels slightly similar between them.

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea-The-Earthsea-Cycle-1.jpg

Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and knowledge, he tampered with long-held secrets and loosed a terrible shadow upon the world. This is the tumultuous tale of his testing, how he mastered the mighty words of power, tamed an ancient dragon, and crossed death’s threshold to restore the balance. -Amazon

A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in the The Earthsea Cycle. This series can probably be titled as a classic fantasy series. I remember that I really liked it back when I read it, but that is starting to be some years ago. I dont think it can compete with some of the newer epic fantasy series.

Again, the Earthsea Cycle and Abhorsen dos not really have anything in common. But it feels like they somehow belongs together.

The-Golden-Compass-His-Dark-Materials-1.jpg

Lyra Belacqua is an orphan living in the precincts of Oxford University. Her world in snot like ours, Lyra and the rest of her companions all have a personal daemon. This daemon is the personification of their sole in an animal form. Her peaceful life is changed when Lord Asriel, her uncle, arrives with strange and dangerous tidings from the far north. He also has photographs of a mysterious phenomenon called Dust and the dim outline of a city suspended in the northern lights that he suspects is part of an alternate universe. Lyra is left in the care of Mrs. Coulter a mysterious scholar and explorer. Lyra learns that many children disappears, and when her friend Roger is kidnapped she sets out to find him. Her search leads her to the top of the world where she learns that the missing children andtheir daemons are used in horrific experiments.

I remember liking this trilogy quite well. Its a good children and young adult book. I think I would still like it if I were to read it again now as an regular adult.

His Dark Materials might not deal in death, but it has spirit/daemon like beings. Both books are also a good fit for younger readers.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

Demon Cycle has daemons that comes out at night from the centre of the earth. But it has nothing to do with death, and it is written primarily for a little older audience.

The-Amulet-of-Samarkand-Bartimaeus-Sequence-1-by-Jonathan-Stroud.jpg

Britain is ruled by powerful magicians, and Nathaniel, a young boy, is sold to the government by his birth parents. Nathaniel is told his is the “ultimate sacrifice” for a “noble destiny” as he is sent to live as an apprentice to Arthur Underwood, a cold, condescending, and cruel middle-ranking magician. Nathaniel hones his magic skills to be able to summon the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus to take revenge on ruthless magician Simon Lovelace who publicly humiliated him. He plans to do this by stealing the powerful Amulet of Samarkand from Lovelace. Nathaniel is plunged into a situation more dangerous and deadly than anything he could ever imagine.

This is a well paced story with a good plot. You should read this series, it is really good.
he story itself is well-paced and complex enough to keep the reader guessing. It ends independently but with enough loose ends to point to an obvious sequel, which I for one eagerly await. Very highly recommended.

Bartimaeus is not about necromancy and death, but it has daemons and summoning. That is kind of similar. The books also feels like them fit for the same audience, even if Bartimaeus might have more humour in it.

Guilty-Pleasures-Anita-Blake-Vampire-Hunter-1-by-Laurell-K.-Hamilton.jpg

Anita Blake is a necromancer and vampire hunter. Vampires are protected by law, but when some of them gets out of hand, then you call Anita Blake, the Executioner. Guilty Pleasures, the first book in the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series, starts out with someone killing innocent vampires. Anita is approached by Jean Claude, the second strongest vampire in the city to help figur out who is killing vampires. Anita agrees to help out after a bit of vampiric arm-twisting.

This is the start of an excellent vampire series. Well, the beginning of it is excellent. I stooped reading around book 10, it had started to go downhill a little before that. But the first books are absolutely worth reading.

Anita Blake is also a necromancer and a strong female lead character. But tat is all they have in common. Abhorsen is a good book for younger readers too but Anita Blake Vampire Hunter is absolutely not recommended for younger readers. They start of good, but after a while they go from the paranormal genre to pure erotic shit books.

TV

Six-Feet-Under-TV.jpg

Six Feet Under follows the Fisher family, a dysfunctional family from L.A., and their family owned funeral home. This show has serious drama and dark humour melted into one substance of pure awesomeness.

Six Feet Under is a superb TV-Show. It has serious drama, but it is also halleriouse at times. This is one of those TV-Shows that should be a must watch.

Both Six Feet and Abhorsen deal in death, and that is probably all that are similar. Not sure if they even fit for the same audience. Only added Six Feet Under because they have one topic in common and it is a incredibly good show.

The-Dresden-Files-TV.jpg

HARRY DRESDEN — WIZARD Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations. Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates. No Love Potions, Endless Purses, Parties, or Other Entertainment.

Harry Dresden is a wizard from Chicago that works as a private investigator. He actually advertises in the Chicago yellow pages, with the add written above. He also works as a consultant to the Chicago police with Detective Murphy on those cases considered bizarre.

I was at first a little put off because it differs from the stories told in the books, but after I come over that I started to really like it. The essence of the show is the same as the books, and you get a similar feeling. It is worth watching even if you have not read the books.

Movie

Corpse-Bride-Movie-2005.jpg

When Victor Van Dort, a shy groom to be, practices his wedding vows far out in the woods. He accidentally get married to Emily, a corps bride, who assumed it was her he intended to marry. Emily takes victor on a unforgetable jurny when she takes him home to the underworld to meet her friends.

Corpse Bride is not as good as the classical “The Nightmare Before Christmas”, but it is stile a really good movie made in classic Tim Burton style.

Do you agree? Anything else you think should be on this list?

  • The Magician’s Guild has been sitting sitting on my shelf for years and I liked Sabriel, so I might have to add it to my to read list. I hadn’t heard of the Spirit Thief, but the magic system sounds so cool! Codex Alera is also sitting on my shelf…. So many of these books are already on my to read list! I am a big fan of the Dresden Files books, so I really didn’t like the tv show, all I could see were what was wrong. I’m glad you were able to see past that and enjoy it.

    • Codex Alera is much better than The Magician’s Guild, I would have started on it first. The Spirit Thief is also really good, and it is a lighter ad faster read than Codex Alera.

      Hmm… Dresden Files tv show might be better suited for people that have not read the books. Lots of people will probably just see all the stuff that are wrong.