If you like “A Song of Ice and Fire” by George R.R. Martin, then you might enjoy…

A-Game-of-Thrones-A-Song-of-Ice-and-Fire-1-by-George-R.R.-Martin.jpg

A Song of Ice and Fire is a splendid series. And if you love it as much as I do, then you wil love some of the following Books and TV-shows.

This is the first book in explores a A Song of Ice and Fire, this series is set in medieval-like fantasy world where summers span decades and winter can last a lifetime. The characters in this epic story are struggling amid plots and counterplots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror in the only game that matters, the game of thrones. And in this game you either win or you die, there is no middle ground.

Book

The-Curse-of-Chalion-Chalion-1-by-Lois-McMaster-Bujold.jpg

A man broken in body and spirit, Cazaril returns to the noble household he once served as page and is named secretary-tutor to the beautiful, strong-willed sister of the impetuous boy who is next in line to rule. It is an assignment Cazaril dreads, for it must ultimately lead him to the place he most fears: the royal court of Cardegoss, where the powerful enemies who once placed him in chains now occupy lofty positions. – Amazon

I only read the first book, and I didn`t like it that much. However, I am pretty sure it was just the mod I was in at the time. That sometimes affects my view on books, both positively and negatively. I plan on giving it another chance.

Assassins-Apprentice-Realm-of-the-Elderlings-1-by-Robin-Hobb.jpg

Young Fitz, born on the wrong side of the sheets, is the bastard son of prince Chivalry. As a young child he is raised as a stableboy in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s stableman, Burrich, the stablemaster at Buckkeep. Fitz is treated as an outcast by all the nobles except by King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored as an assassin. In Fitz’s blood runs the magic called Skill, and the more animalistic, and by most, the abhorred art known as the Wit. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood, and soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-crushing mission.

This is the first book in The Farseer trilogy, and it is very good. This series is among the books that are a must read for any fan of fantasy books.

Both are fantasy classics. Assassin’s Apprentice (Farseer trilogy) follows the standard Coming-of-Age structure, but it is a really good series.

The-Black-Company-Chronicles-of-the-Black-Company-1-by-Glen-Cook.jpg

Some feel the Lady, newly risen from centuries in thrall, stands between humankind and evil. Some feel she is evil itself. The hard-bitten men of the Black Company take their pay and do what they must, burying their doubts with their dead. Until the prophesy: The White Rose has been reborn, somewhere, to embody good once more. There must be a way for the Black Company to find her. – From Amazon.

I have only read then first book, and that is many years ago. I remember liking it, but I was no in a reading mood back then, however I plan to take this series up again.

The-Deed-of-Paksenarrion-The-Deed-of-Paksenarrion-1-by-Elizabeth-Moon.jpg

The Deed of Paksenarrion centres around the life of Paksenarrion, known as Paks, a simple sheepfarmer’s daughter. She is a headstrong teenage girl that yearns for a life of adventure and glory, such as was known to heroes in songs and story. When her father arranges a marriage for her, she decides to flee and take up with a mercenary company. Through her journeys and hardships in the mercenary company she comes to realize that she has been gifted as a paladin.

The Deed of Paksenarrion is a good fantasy read. I might be wrong, but I think it is among the earlier classical fantasy books with a strong female character in the lead. In stead following a young boy as he grows into his powers we follow a young girl.

The Deed of Paksenarrion is leaning more towards the classical fantasy story structure. But it is an excellent series that you probably will like if you like Game of Thrones.

The-Eye-of-the-World-The-Wheel-of-Time-1-by-Robert-Jordan.jpg

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The first book in The Wheel of Time (The Eye of the World) starts out in the peaceful village of Emond’s Field. The villagers pay little attention to rumours of war in the western lands until a brutal attack by Trollocs, troll-like minions of the Dark One, forces three young men to confront a destiny which has its origins in the time known as The Breaking of the World.

This richly detailed fantasy presents a fully realized, complex adventure which will appeal to fans of classic fantasy. The Wheel of time is highly recommended, however, some of the later books can be a drag to read.

Both are huge complex fantasy series and are widely popular among fantasy readers. Wheel of Time has more use of magic in it, and popular character are not killed of as much as in Game of Thrones.

The-Way-of-Kings-The-Stormlight-Archive-1-by-Brandon-Sanderson.jpg

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power, the Storm-father, sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soiless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

In The Way of Kings, the first book of the The Stormlight Archive, we follow tree main protagonists. Kaladin, who traded his promesing medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, only to be twice betrayed by his Brightlord and end up in slavery. Brightlord Dalinar Kholin, brother of the late king, commander of one of the armies and follower of the The Way of Kings. And Shallan, who is seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure.

This book is highly recommended. It starts of a very promising series. If you like fantasy books, then this is a must read.

Both series have power struggles among the nobles and an inhuman species threatening the world. The Way of Kings is the first book in a series that looks like it might be able to rival The Game of Throne. We do however not read from the point of view of so many characters as we do in Game of Thrones.

Furies-of-Calderon-Codex-Alera-1-by-Jim-Butcher.jpg

The people of Alera are bound with furies, elementals of earth, water, air, fire and metal. The teenager Tavi stands out from all other people in Alere, he has no furycrafting. However, Tavi manages to get by with brains and courage, even when every one else has the power of furies backing them. When his homeland erupts in chaos, when rebels war with loyalists and furies clash with furies, Tavi’s simple furyles courage will turn the tides of war.

Furies of Calderon is the firs book of Codex Alera, a finished six book series. This is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend people loving fantasy books to read it.

Both are epic fantasy series and the humans in both are threaten by inhuman forces. A insect like alien species are threatening the people of Alera, and in the long run the whole world.

The-Lies-of-Locke-Lamora-The-Gentleman-Bastard-1-by-Scott-Lynch.jpg

Locke Lamora, born in the island city of Camorr with a quick wit and a gift for thieving, has dodged both death and slavery, only to fall into the hands of an eyeless priest known as Chains. A man who is neither blind nor a priest, but a con artist of extraordinary talent. Chains passes his skills on to his carefully selected gang of orphans, a group known as the Gentlemen Bastards. Under Chains guiding hand, Locke grows to lead the Gentlemen Bastards, delightedly pulling off one outrageous confidence game after another. A shadowy and ambitious figur, known as the Gray King is using Locke Lamora as a pawn in his play to take control of Camorr’s underworld. With a bloody coup under way threatening to destroy everyone and everything that he cares for, Locke vows to beat the Gray King at his own game, or die trying.

I have only read the first book in this series, but I plan to read the rest later.

Not exactly sure why I thing these two belongs together, but they do. If you like one you will probably like the other to.

The-Blade-Itself-The-First-Law-1-by-Joe-Abercrombie.jpg

Murderous conspiracies, old scores ready to be settled, unpredictable, compelling, wickedly funny, and packed with unforgettable characters, We follow the characters the infamous barbarian Logen Ninefingers, Captain Jezal dan Luthar, Inquisitor Glokta and he wizard Bayaz. Jezal is a nobleman, dashing officer, and paragon of selfishness. He has nothing more dangerous in mind than fleecing his friends at cards and dreaming of glory in the fencing circle. Glokta, a cripple turned torturer, loves cutting treason out of the Union one confession at a time. Bayaz, an old man with a terrible temper, he could be the First of the Magi, he could be a spectacular fraud, but whatever he is, he’s about to make the lives of Logen, Jezal, and Glotka a whole lot more difficult.

The Blade Itself is the first book in the The Blade Itself. This book, especially Glokta with his biting and interesting internal monologues, is among the better fantasy books. You will have a blast reading this.

The First Law belong to the quest fantasy genre, so there are significant differences, but I still think they kind of belongs together. They are both excellent fantasy books.

Dragon-Champion-Age-of-Fire-1-by-E.E.-Knight.jpg

Auron, a rare defenseless gray dragon that might be the last of his breed, witnesses the slaughter of his parents at the hands of a band of dwarves. Once out of the mountain cave he was born in, he quickly learns just how dangerous it is to be a dragon. With dwarves, elves, and humans relentlessly hunting him. Armed with nothing but his claws and a determination to survive, he sets off in search of his kind. But to find other dragons-or, at least, find out who’s killing them off. Dragon Champion is the first book in the Age of Fire series. Some of the other books in the series shows us how it goes with Auro`s siblings once they flee the cave.

This is a fun and different fantasy book. You should read this, as long as you do not mind reading from the point of view of a dragon.

Dragons, they are in both books. That is pretty much the only similarity between these two series.

The-Painted-Man-Demon-Cycle-by-Peter-V.-Brett.jpg

Demons, possessing supernatural powers, comes up from the centre of the earth at night, multitudes and giants, from fire, wood, and rock, hungry for human flesh. Humans has to hide inside between magic wards for protection, or risk almost certain death. After centuries, human population dwindle, most of the wards forgotten. Three young survivors of demon attacks, Arlen, Leesha, and Rojer, dare to fight back.

The Painted Man (The Warded Man), is an excellent book, and it just the beginning.

TV

Game-of-Thrones-TV.jpg

Noble families fight for control of the mythical land of Westeros. Political and sexual intrigue is pervasive. They are locked in a battle for the Iron Throne. This is a grand story of duplicity and treachery, nobility and honor, conquest and triumph. When you play the Game of Thrones, you either win or you die. While the noble families play their deadly game a very ancient evil awakens in the farthest north. Only a neglected military order of sinners and outcasts, the Night’s Watch, is all that stands between the realms of men and this ancient evil.

This is the book version of the TV show, the first of many books.

What do you think, are they similar to A Game of Thrones? Anything else you think should be on this list?